Happy new year's eve!!!
Celebate the end of a year and the beginning of the next. With champagne, of course. Repeat a few times until toasty.
Enjoy your party if you are celebrating at one. Me? I will be at home like I have been for the past years. One year, quite a long time ago, I watched the new year celebrations on television with champagne and tunafish sandwiches. That was actually one of my more fun and memorable New Years. Celebrating the new year can be plain and simple. But fun.
Have a fun...and safe new year!
Thursday, December 31, 2009
Wednesday, December 30, 2009
Happy Hour Friday - Midori Champagne Cocktail
Midori Champagne Cocktail
In a champagne flute:
Add 1 oz. Midori.
Fill with champagne.
Squeeze fresh lemon juice.
In a champagne flute:
Add 1 oz. Midori.
Fill with champagne.
Squeeze fresh lemon juice.
Tuesday, December 29, 2009
Happy Hour Friday - Greyhound Champagne Cocktail
I am not sure what the official name of this drink is because I made it up. I just thought of what I would like to mix with champagne.
Greyhound Champagne Cocktail
In a champagne flute:
Greyhound Champagne Cocktail
In a champagne flute:
- Fill 3/4 glass champagne.
- Fill with red grapefruit juice.
- Squeeze lime juice.
Monday, December 28, 2009
Happy Hour Friday - Champagne Cosmo
Champagne Cosmo
- Add ice to a shaker.
- Add 1-1/2 oz. vodka.
- Add 1-1/2 oz. cranberry juice.
- Add 1/2 oz. lime juice.
- Add splash of Grand Marnier or Triple Sec.
- Shake until chilled.
- Strain and pour into a champagne flute.
- Fill with champagne.
Sunday, December 27, 2009
Happy Hour Friday - Bellini
A tasty favorite of mine. Three versions of the drink. Try and see which one is your favorite. I like mine with white peach juice.
Bellini
In a champagne flute:
Bellini (White Peach Juice)
Bellini
In a champagne flute:
- Fill with champagne
- Add 1 oz. Peach Schnapps
- Garnish with lemon twist
Bellini (White Peach Juice)
In a champagne flute:
- Fill with champagne
- Add white peach juice
Bellini (Peach Nectar)
In a champagne flute:
- Fill with champagne
- Add peach nectar
Happy Hour Friday - Mimosa
A classic brunch drink...
Mimosa
In a champagne flute, fill with:
Mimosa
In a champagne flute, fill with:
- 3/4 glass champagne
- 1/4 glass orange juice
Saturday, December 26, 2009
Happy Hour Friday - Champagne Cocktail
Getting ready for New Year's Eve. Or just plain good at any time. Just a few champagne drinks for the next few posts.
Champagne Cocktail
In a champagne flute, add:
Champagne Cocktail
In a champagne flute, add:
- 1 sugar cube
- Splash 2 dashes of bitters
- Fill with champagne
Friday, December 25, 2009
Christmas!
Today is Christmas. Christmas gives me warm and fuzzies. I hope everyone is enjoying their holiday as they celebrate it.
Merry Christmas everyone!
Merry Christmas everyone!
Thursday, December 24, 2009
Nogged Out
It is Christmas eve. I am nogged out on an eggnog shake from Chez Jacques. Tasty. So I am in a food fugue at the moment.
I have brownie cookies waiting for Santa at midnight.
Happy holidays!
I have brownie cookies waiting for Santa at midnight.
Happy holidays!
Friday, December 18, 2009
Happy Hour Friday - Three Wise Men
The name is cute if you just stop for a minute and think about it. Tee hee.
Three Wise Men
Cute, eh?
Three Wise Men
- 1/2 oz. Johnny Walker
- 1/2 oz. Jack Daniels
- 1/2 oz. Jim Beam
Cute, eh?
Thursday, December 17, 2009
Happy Hour Friday - Brandy Alexander
I guess I must have the holiday bug.
Brandy Alexander
Add brandy.
Add dark creme de cacao.
Add cream.
Shake until very cold.
Strain into a martini glass.
Brandy Alexander
- 1-1/2 oz. brandy
- 1/2 oz. dark creme de cacao
- 1 oz. cream
Add brandy.
Add dark creme de cacao.
Add cream.
Shake until very cold.
Strain into a martini glass.
Wednesday, December 16, 2009
Happy Hour Friday - Hot Toddy
If you feel the sniffles coming on, try this.
Hot Toddy
Add whiskey.
Fill with hot water.
Squeeze lemon wedge.
Stir.
Float lemon slice on top.
Hot Toddy
- Sugar cube or honey
- 1 oz. whiskey
- Hot water
- Lemon wedge and slice
Add whiskey.
Fill with hot water.
Squeeze lemon wedge.
Stir.
Float lemon slice on top.
Tuesday, December 15, 2009
Happy Hour Friday - Brandy Coffee
For those chilly evenings after dinner.
Brandy Coffee
Add brandy.
Fill with hot coffee.
Brandy Coffee
- 1 oz. brandy
- Hot coffee
Add brandy.
Fill with hot coffee.
Monday, December 14, 2009
Happy Hour Friday - Eggnog
Okay. I know it is not Friday but I just want to keep it all easy to find. I guess I am just in the holiday mood. Well, actually, I just love the holidays for the...eggnog! This is just something simple that I (and probably a lot of other people) have during the holidays. This is not the actual recipe but this is just my plain simple eggnog from a carton.
Eggnog
Add Bud's Egg Nog.
Heat in microwave until hot (1-1/2 minutes or more depending on your wattage).
Sprinkle with nutmeg.
Mmmmmm...yummy. I just love this on a cold evening curled up watching telly.
Eggnog
- 1-1/2 oz. rum
- Bud's Egg Nog
- nutmeg
Add Bud's Egg Nog.
Heat in microwave until hot (1-1/2 minutes or more depending on your wattage).
Sprinkle with nutmeg.
Mmmmmm...yummy. I just love this on a cold evening curled up watching telly.
Sunday, December 13, 2009
BK Confession
Okay, I am now coming clean. I am usually a health nut and do not go near the fast food joints. I was feeling hurky queasy from the drink I had at brunch. I needed something greasy to quell the queasy. (As I say in Cat in the Hat lingo.) I eye spy Burger King. That will do. That fits the greasy bill. To my sister's total surprise, I order us Whoppers. Not sure if she caught this or not but for sake of speediness I ordered it full blown. With mayo. I always order burgers without mayo. The fast food joints tend to slather the stuff on drowning the poor burger. I am usually a lettuce, tomato, onion, sprouts kinda gal. I take a bite. Oh, oh. This...is...not...bad. Few more bites. Gone. I guess this is a twisted meaning of "guilty pleasure." I now freely admit that I liked it. The Whopper, that is.
(You do remember I like to eat, right?)
(You do remember I like to eat, right?)
Saturday, December 12, 2009
Craving Won Ton Mein
I am watching an episode of Diary of a Foodie on PBS. There is a segment on won ton noodle soup. Mmmmm. Chinese comfort food. They are in Hong Kong in the Causeway Bay neighboorhood. Gosh, the food looks so good! But it is a simple dish. Simple in means of it being a simple food. But it is anything but simple to make. I used to make it when I was a kid. My dad taught us how to make it from scratch and it takes more ingredients than you think and a lot of time to make. But homemade won ton is just soooooooo good.
Friday, December 11, 2009
Happy Hour Friday - Candy Cane Martini
Well, the Christmas holiday is coming up. It is not too early to think about merry cocktails.
Candy Cane Martini
Add vodka.
Add peppermint schnapps.
Shake mixer about 12-15 times until contents are really cold.
Strain contents into a martini glass.
Add candy cane to martini glass.
Candy Cane Martini
- 1 oz. vodka
- 1 oz. peppermint schnapps
- candy cane (optional)
Add vodka.
Add peppermint schnapps.
Shake mixer about 12-15 times until contents are really cold.
Strain contents into a martini glass.
Add candy cane to martini glass.
Sunday, December 6, 2009
Med Food
Went to a so-so new restaurant. Mediterranean food. Mmmmmm...yummity. Meze platter was a meal in itself. Hummus, baba ganoush, tabouli, haydari, ezme, falafel and squash dip. Entree was a mixed grill. Grilled shrimp, ground beef/lamb, chicken and beef kebabs.
I really dig Mediterranean food. It is really tasty and more on the healthy side (always a plus). Just not too many Mediterranean restaurants and especially surprised that this one is local. The other ones that come to mind are in different parts of the city and is more of a destination spot. This place is definitely a repeater.
I really dig Mediterranean food. It is really tasty and more on the healthy side (always a plus). Just not too many Mediterranean restaurants and especially surprised that this one is local. The other ones that come to mind are in different parts of the city and is more of a destination spot. This place is definitely a repeater.
Mmmmmm... yummity...Gosh, I do like to eat, dunt I?
Saturday, December 5, 2009
Canned Comfort
Another one of those cravings hit me. This time for a can of Chef Boy-Ar-Dee ravioli. I used to eat this as a kid and came to be a comfort food. My dad would make (well, heat up...really) a can for lunch and fell in love with it as a kid. I really tried to stave off that craving (the chugging water trick usually works) but I eventually gave in. I guess something in me just wanted that comfort food to throw me back into that time of innocence. I must have been moody and just wanted to embrace some nostaglia. To lessen some of that tastes-so-good-but-so-bad-for-you guilt, I opened a can of fat-free ravioli (yep, they actually make it) but, yes, yes, yes, all that sodium. Would be heaven if they would fat-free low sodium. But, in the meantime, I will enjoy this can of comfort and think of my dad with every bite.
Friday, December 4, 2009
Happy Hour Friday - Kir Royale
It is that time of the week...happy hour Friday!
I nostalgically thought of a Kir Royale since I used to order them for brunch at a restaurant called Cheers which has been closed a few years back. It had great food in a casual atmosphere with white table cloths. Great American fare with a killer creme brulee. Oh, I can just vividly remember the crunch of the caramelized sugar down to the Tahitian vanilla. Mmmm...yum...
Kir Royale
I nostalgically thought of a Kir Royale since I used to order them for brunch at a restaurant called Cheers which has been closed a few years back. It had great food in a casual atmosphere with white table cloths. Great American fare with a killer creme brulee. Oh, I can just vividly remember the crunch of the caramelized sugar down to the Tahitian vanilla. Mmmm...yum...
Kir Royale
- Add 1/4 oz. cassis into a champagne flute.
- Fill with champagne.
Enjoy!
Thursday, December 3, 2009
Pizza, Pizza
I did something totally out of character today. I was at the supermarket and I bought two frozen pizzas. I guess out of curiousity and being cheap. I never bought a frozen pizza in my life. Until now. I thought I would doctor it up with fresh veggies and toss some basil (love basil) on top at the last few minutes.
- I guess a few factors were involved that influenced me to pick up the pizzas:
I actually had been craving a Round Table gourmet veggie for months now. Yes...months! But I have not given in yet to that craving. - I had just ordered and received my silicone baking sheets and am curious as to how good they are in the oven - baking, roasting, clean-up, etc.
- They were cheap. They were three bucks and change apiece.
But...the pizza is, of course, high in fat grams. That is the first thing I check. Fat grams. This part of it blows but I succumb. I toss them into my cart and off I go.
Wednesday, December 2, 2009
Another Commuter Pet Peeve
Guys that sit with their legs wide apart. C'mon on now guys. What gives? There is no reason why you should be taking up so much air space. Stay on your side of the seat. Ego, maybe? Marking your territory? The alpha male thing? Get over it. Close your darn legs and be a gentleman. Lose your inner Al Bundy.
Horrible thought -- when it is a woman. Blechhh!
Horrible thought -- when it is a woman. Blechhh!
Tuesday, December 1, 2009
Signs of Christmas
I cannot help but laugh hysterically at the seasonal television commercials just in time for the Christmas season. You know Christmas is just around the corner when you see these commercials:
- Chia pets in the craziest configurations
- Salad Shooter (do they actually still make this product???)
- Clapper (clap on, clap off)
Can you add any more to the list? I am sure there are more!
Sunday, November 29, 2009
Pursuing Persimmons
Persimmons. I have really been getting into these lately. These are seasonal fruits and I just love them. But I can only love them while they are in season.
There are two types - Hachiya and Fuyu. The Hachiyas are the ones where you have to eat them when they are mushy ripe. Believe me, you do not want to try to eat them before it is time. It is like biting into sand. Gritty. Yuck. But when they are ripe, they are juicy and sweet. It has a texture which I would describe as gelatinous. Try freezing them when they get into this mushy gelatinous state. Take it out of the freezer and take the skin off. Eat when frozen. It will remind you of eating a sorbet. Something different, eh?
I am really into the Fuyu persimmon. Okay, I always laugh when I say or think Fuyu. The pronounciation. (tee hee) I usually eat the Fuyu while it is hard like an apple. It can also be eaten at that mushy state and is a matter of preference. But I like the crunchiness. I have been eating a few at a sitting. Yep. I am chowing through them.
I eat them sliced or toss slices into a salad. I like the sweet/savory combo, remember? Something different to try if you have not thought about that combo.
However you decide to eat them, enjoy them while you can.
There are two types - Hachiya and Fuyu. The Hachiyas are the ones where you have to eat them when they are mushy ripe. Believe me, you do not want to try to eat them before it is time. It is like biting into sand. Gritty. Yuck. But when they are ripe, they are juicy and sweet. It has a texture which I would describe as gelatinous. Try freezing them when they get into this mushy gelatinous state. Take it out of the freezer and take the skin off. Eat when frozen. It will remind you of eating a sorbet. Something different, eh?
I am really into the Fuyu persimmon. Okay, I always laugh when I say or think Fuyu. The pronounciation. (tee hee) I usually eat the Fuyu while it is hard like an apple. It can also be eaten at that mushy state and is a matter of preference. But I like the crunchiness. I have been eating a few at a sitting. Yep. I am chowing through them.
I eat them sliced or toss slices into a salad. I like the sweet/savory combo, remember? Something different to try if you have not thought about that combo.
However you decide to eat them, enjoy them while you can.
Saturday, November 28, 2009
Comatose
Oh, gosh. I may just be coming out of my food coma from Thanksgiving. Egads. It is amazing how much I like to eat and how much food. One would think I was training to be a competitive food eater. Well, maybe I had thought about that awhile ago.
My sister came home early in the morning and she started cooking the turkey right away. Which means we had turkey in time for lunch. Totally fine by me! For some reason, I did not make any cranberry sauce this year. I guess because I am the only one who eats it and I did not feel like staring at leftover cranberry sauce in the fridge.
I am really trying to get along with Portion Control but not on this day. It seems like Thanksgiving has the reputation as a gorge fest. Yeah, well, I guess so since I helped myself to a second helping of everything. For lunch. Repeated at dinner. Aaaaccckkkk. I feel like a stuffed turkey. Gobbled gobbly gobble.
I think I am coming out of my food coma long enough to make another plate. (Still working on it.) So I could fall back into my coma.
Sweet dreams (burp)...
My sister came home early in the morning and she started cooking the turkey right away. Which means we had turkey in time for lunch. Totally fine by me! For some reason, I did not make any cranberry sauce this year. I guess because I am the only one who eats it and I did not feel like staring at leftover cranberry sauce in the fridge.
I am really trying to get along with Portion Control but not on this day. It seems like Thanksgiving has the reputation as a gorge fest. Yeah, well, I guess so since I helped myself to a second helping of everything. For lunch. Repeated at dinner. Aaaaccckkkk. I feel like a stuffed turkey. Gobbled gobbly gobble.
I think I am coming out of my food coma long enough to make another plate. (Still working on it.) So I could fall back into my coma.
Sweet dreams (burp)...
Friday, November 27, 2009
Cape Cod
Also called or simply known as a Vodka Cranberry. Keeping with the Thanksgiving theme, of course.
Cape Cod
Cape Cod
- Fill a tall glass with ice.
- Add 1 oz. vodka.
- Fill with cranberry juice.
Wednesday, November 25, 2009
T-Giving
Almost there. Today is the day before Thanksgiving and I suspect most people are frenzied and have their panties bunched up. This is one monster day of cooking prep. Well, except for me, of course. The microwave queen.
Anxiousness. Cooking. Relatives. Too much happening.
A lot going on at once for a lot of people. Well, not me. It is just me and sis. Hopefully. Her firefriend is hoping to work on the holiday. That leaves her at home for Turkey Day. A turkey is defrosting in the fridge - check. Stove Top - check. Gravy in a can (used to be a jar but a can will have to do this year) - check. Frozen veggies (peas, corn) - check. Ha ha. We are not cooks! Some people really get off on cooking (Martha-esque) but not me. Well, I can but would have to be motivated. Happens about...mmmm...once or twice a year. Admittedly, I am a stereotype bachelor(ette). More bachelor than bachelorette really. A bachelorette can and does cook. Bachelors, well...don't. But who cares? It is just good to be hanging out with my sis. That is all I care about. (Giving my thanks...)
Anxiousness. Cooking. Relatives. Too much happening.
A lot going on at once for a lot of people. Well, not me. It is just me and sis. Hopefully. Her firefriend is hoping to work on the holiday. That leaves her at home for Turkey Day. A turkey is defrosting in the fridge - check. Stove Top - check. Gravy in a can (used to be a jar but a can will have to do this year) - check. Frozen veggies (peas, corn) - check. Ha ha. We are not cooks! Some people really get off on cooking (Martha-esque) but not me. Well, I can but would have to be motivated. Happens about...mmmm...once or twice a year. Admittedly, I am a stereotype bachelor(ette). More bachelor than bachelorette really. A bachelorette can and does cook. Bachelors, well...don't. But who cares? It is just good to be hanging out with my sis. That is all I care about. (Giving my thanks...)
Tuesday, November 24, 2009
Sipping Turkey
Wild Turkey Honey Liqueur. When I first received this bottle from a good friend of mine, I had that "huhhhh?" reaction. I knew about Wild Turkey but I had not heard of this liqueur. I scratched my head wondering what this could be and what it would taste like (had thoughts of an initial gag reaction). To my pleasant surprise, it is pretty tasty. It is a sweet liqueur that I would not have associated with Wild Turkey. Who woulda thunk?? I wonder how those Wild Turkey folks thought of creating this anti-WT sipper.
If you are curious about the liqueur, head over to BevMo and pick up a bottle. I hope you enjoy it and is as much surprised as I was at my first sip.
Thought it would be a bit in line with the upcoming holiday. Happy T-giving sipping!!
If you are curious about the liqueur, head over to BevMo and pick up a bottle. I hope you enjoy it and is as much surprised as I was at my first sip.
Thought it would be a bit in line with the upcoming holiday. Happy T-giving sipping!!
Friday, November 13, 2009
Happy Hour Friday - Black Russian
It is that time of the week (yay)!. Since I was blogging about being nostalgic about coffee yesterday, I thought a Black Russian would be appropriate for this week's happy hour.
Black Russian
- Fill a rocks glass with ice.
- Fill with 1 oz. vodka.
- Fill with 1 oz. kahlua.
Enjoy!!
Thursday, November 12, 2009
Sugar Attack
What the heck just happened? Now, I am not a sugar junkie. Far from it, really. I am more of a salt/savory craver. Like potato chips, crackers, whatever. (Okay, okay, those coco MMers were an anomaly.)
I guess this all started when I went looking for a South Beach protein bar. I thought I had a box lying around somewhere. Seems I must have blown through them and have no replacements. In the course of my quest, I found a bag of coffee candy. I open one and toss it in my mouth. And then another. And another. And another. Repeat, repeat, repeat. Next thing you know is my trash is floating with empty candy wrappers. I think I just hit that comfort food spot. I used to eat them all the time when I was just a little kid. It reminds me of mom. She used to love these too. I guess I got my taste for these candies from her. I miss her. I think of her as I am brought back to my childhood. I sit back, think of mom and enjoy my treats. I miss her...
I guess this all started when I went looking for a South Beach protein bar. I thought I had a box lying around somewhere. Seems I must have blown through them and have no replacements. In the course of my quest, I found a bag of coffee candy. I open one and toss it in my mouth. And then another. And another. And another. Repeat, repeat, repeat. Next thing you know is my trash is floating with empty candy wrappers. I think I just hit that comfort food spot. I used to eat them all the time when I was just a little kid. It reminds me of mom. She used to love these too. I guess I got my taste for these candies from her. I miss her. I think of her as I am brought back to my childhood. I sit back, think of mom and enjoy my treats. I miss her...
Wednesday, November 11, 2009
Vet's Day
Today is Veterans Day and is the time to remember and honor all who have served and are serving for our country. We all know someone, whether closely or remotely, who has should receive the recognition and honor today.
Tuesday, November 10, 2009
Trauma Reprieve??
Shhhhhh. Sounds like the recently cancelled Trauma may be a survivor. It is under assessment by the network. It appears it has a following. So, for those who are followers and would like to see it continue...keep the good vibes going. And cross your fingers.
Monday, November 9, 2009
Commuter Pet Peeve
Gosh. There are probably so many pet peeves I have when commuting. Most, if not all of them, are lack of courtesy of others in some way.
My pet peeve today is people who keep their backpacks on and do not take them off and put them on the floor. I used to carry a backpack but I would always place it on the floor so other commuters could get by me. Okay, okay. If you are iffy about putting your backpack on the floor, do what I do -- place the bottom of the pack on top of your feet. I mean, c'mon now, inconsiderate people -- we cannot get around you. Take the darn thing off your back and let others get around you. Sheesh.
Okay, that was my commuter beef for today. I am sure I will blog more about others.
So, what is your take about backpacks?
My pet peeve today is people who keep their backpacks on and do not take them off and put them on the floor. I used to carry a backpack but I would always place it on the floor so other commuters could get by me. Okay, okay. If you are iffy about putting your backpack on the floor, do what I do -- place the bottom of the pack on top of your feet. I mean, c'mon now, inconsiderate people -- we cannot get around you. Take the darn thing off your back and let others get around you. Sheesh.
Okay, that was my commuter beef for today. I am sure I will blog more about others.
So, what is your take about backpacks?
Sunday, November 8, 2009
Chicken Out
My latest food jones is Rocky Chicken drumsticks. Roasted and sold at the local supermarket deli for just a mere tri-bux for six. It hooked me in. Uhhhhh, let me see -- I do not have to cook, it is hot food, they are drumsticks (one fave part), it is organic, it is cheap, I can blow through the express lane, I can tear into it right away after I get home, leftovers can be post-gym protein eatz. Oh, heck yeah, let me at it.
Oh, I am such a sucker for food...
Oh, I am such a sucker for food...
Saturday, November 7, 2009
My Latest Food Craze
This is a not food craze but I am getting into it because of the season change. I am a big (as in really big) salad eater. I love salads. I used to have them for lunch every day (not so much nowadays). But the season is changing and it is getting cooler (some days much colder). How to satisfy my love for salad in this weather, I ponder. I thought of grilled caesar salad so something along those lines. Sort of like a reverse warm spinach salad. Warm salad instead of warm dressing. I always have romaine salad in the fridge and is the usual base for my salads. Cool. Let me work with it.
I get started. I halve a romaine heart in half and toss it on a very lightly oiled (olive, of course, for flavor) pan. Grill pan is the usual suspect but I just used a regular pan which is just as good. Oh, okay, I admit it. I threw both halves on the pan. I already fessed up that I eat Peppermill size salads. To justify using the whole head of romaine, it was a small heart of romaine. While the romaine is heating up, I prepare the other ingredients. My usual method of madness is to toss together whatever is in the fridge. Protein today for the salad is leftover chicken breast. Love chicken for the low-fat protein and usually put the white meat aside for salads. Just the right portion size for a salad. A large chicken breast is good enough for two portions. This was a dinky portion since it was deli chicken. Okay, what else. Feta cheese diced up into small bits, sliced red onions, zucchini in half moons, diced Asian pear, thawed frozen corn, thawed frozen peas. That should work. Good timing. The romaine is done after I prep the rest of the fixings. Slice the romaine into bite size portions and toss on top of the fixings. Cruise the fridge again. Which one of the numerous dressings am I in the mood for today? Ahhhh, Cheese Fantastico. Good choice. Dress the salad and toss.
Oh, this is yummy. The warm romaine soaks up the vinegarette. The mixture of warm/cold, sweet/salty, crunchy/soft. Opposing textures and tastes. You remember I said I was really into the food experience, right? This one hits the spot.
Give it a shot. Make your own version of a grilled salad and check it out. I hope you like it as much as I do.
I get started. I halve a romaine heart in half and toss it on a very lightly oiled (olive, of course, for flavor) pan. Grill pan is the usual suspect but I just used a regular pan which is just as good. Oh, okay, I admit it. I threw both halves on the pan. I already fessed up that I eat Peppermill size salads. To justify using the whole head of romaine, it was a small heart of romaine. While the romaine is heating up, I prepare the other ingredients. My usual method of madness is to toss together whatever is in the fridge. Protein today for the salad is leftover chicken breast. Love chicken for the low-fat protein and usually put the white meat aside for salads. Just the right portion size for a salad. A large chicken breast is good enough for two portions. This was a dinky portion since it was deli chicken. Okay, what else. Feta cheese diced up into small bits, sliced red onions, zucchini in half moons, diced Asian pear, thawed frozen corn, thawed frozen peas. That should work. Good timing. The romaine is done after I prep the rest of the fixings. Slice the romaine into bite size portions and toss on top of the fixings. Cruise the fridge again. Which one of the numerous dressings am I in the mood for today? Ahhhh, Cheese Fantastico. Good choice. Dress the salad and toss.
Oh, this is yummy. The warm romaine soaks up the vinegarette. The mixture of warm/cold, sweet/salty, crunchy/soft. Opposing textures and tastes. You remember I said I was really into the food experience, right? This one hits the spot.
Give it a shot. Make your own version of a grilled salad and check it out. I hope you like it as much as I do.
Friday, November 6, 2009
Happy Hour Friday - Kahlua and Coffee
Talking about coffee the other day just made me think of a coffee drink. And I guess since it is another one of those dark and drizzly days where I would not mind curling up with a warm drink.
Kahlua and Coffee
Kahlua and Coffee
- In a coffee mug, add 1 to 1-1/4 oz. of Kahlua
- Add coffee to mug (decaf if that is your gig)
- Optional - sugar or flavored syrup to taste
Mmmmmm...savor and enjoy!
Thursday, November 5, 2009
Cut It Out...Of Your Life
I was talking about diet modification yesterday and that makes me think, in a funny way, of a people diet modification. Editing your life. Whatcha mean, you ask. I am talking about editing toxic people out of your life. Sheesh, if I could have done this when I was editing my diet.
I basically put people in one of two camps: the What Can You Do For Me Camp and the What Can I Do For You Camp. Basically, takers and givers.
I have been focusing on life lessons (darned Saturn has been bouncing around in my life) and this one is on my list. Editing out the toxic people in my life. Toxic people will suck the life out of you. They bring out negative energy. Things I have been asking myself --does this person bring me down, is this person only thinking of themselves (selfishness), are they trying to take advantage of me, do they have their or your best interest in mind, do they criticize or support you on how you lead your life, etc.
I am down on downers. I have always put other people in front of me before myself. I was raised to not be selfish (wonder what happened there with two of my very selfish siblings who I cut out of my life) and be humble. I respect the people in my life. I cherish my good friends since I am who I am because of my friends, the relationships I have with each of them and what they bring into my life. Good friends will always bring good things into your life. On the flipside, not-so-good-for-you "friends" will only bring not-so-good-things into your life. Ask yourself -- do I really need this in my life?
Time for some editing...
I basically put people in one of two camps: the What Can You Do For Me Camp and the What Can I Do For You Camp. Basically, takers and givers.
I have been focusing on life lessons (darned Saturn has been bouncing around in my life) and this one is on my list. Editing out the toxic people in my life. Toxic people will suck the life out of you. They bring out negative energy. Things I have been asking myself --does this person bring me down, is this person only thinking of themselves (selfishness), are they trying to take advantage of me, do they have their or your best interest in mind, do they criticize or support you on how you lead your life, etc.
I am down on downers. I have always put other people in front of me before myself. I was raised to not be selfish (wonder what happened there with two of my very selfish siblings who I cut out of my life) and be humble. I respect the people in my life. I cherish my good friends since I am who I am because of my friends, the relationships I have with each of them and what they bring into my life. Good friends will always bring good things into your life. On the flipside, not-so-good-for-you "friends" will only bring not-so-good-things into your life. Ask yourself -- do I really need this in my life?
Time for some editing...
Wednesday, November 4, 2009
Cut It Out
It is a dreary drizzly morning and I am drinking a hot coffee protein drink right now. This is my substitute for real coffee (and a mid-morning snack) since I walked away from caffeine years and years ago to keep my blood pressure in check. Yes, I could always switch to decaf but thought I would just quit it altogether because of the caffeine, sugar and expense. Oh, and because of the darn stained teeth you get from drinking so much coffee. Yeah, yeah, yeah...just brush your teeth you say! Ha ha. Vanity is good for motivation. I will take it.
I was cutting things out of my life at that time since I was so freaked out about possibly having to take meds to control the blood pressure. So here we are...diet modification. I cut out the sodium, caffeine, sugar and not-so-good-for-you fat. A ho-hum, boring, yucky time you would think. But I was determined. Overall, this was, and still is a good diet change. I feel much better. I have that occasional salt attack but I always manage to keep it all in check and have learned ways on how to minimize some of its effects. Moderation really is the key. You hear it all the time but it is really good, sound advice. But I managed to take it to a level better than moderation. Occasional is how I would describe it.
I feel much better physically and mentally. Yes, mentally. Things are cleaner and clearer in both mind and body. A cleansing of sorts.
Are you thinking of modifications for yourself??
I was cutting things out of my life at that time since I was so freaked out about possibly having to take meds to control the blood pressure. So here we are...diet modification. I cut out the sodium, caffeine, sugar and not-so-good-for-you fat. A ho-hum, boring, yucky time you would think. But I was determined. Overall, this was, and still is a good diet change. I feel much better. I have that occasional salt attack but I always manage to keep it all in check and have learned ways on how to minimize some of its effects. Moderation really is the key. You hear it all the time but it is really good, sound advice. But I managed to take it to a level better than moderation. Occasional is how I would describe it.
I feel much better physically and mentally. Yes, mentally. Things are cleaner and clearer in both mind and body. A cleansing of sorts.
Are you thinking of modifications for yourself??
Tuesday, November 3, 2009
Soup's On
I am going back on a soup diet now that the weather is getting colder. What is the soup diet, you ask? It is just having soup for lunch or dinner. To have soup as a meal. Just make sure it is a nutritionally balanced (protein and veggies), low calorie and low fat. I actually dropped a few pounds one year just having soup once a day. I need to drop a few pounds anyway from that pig's feet fest the other day.
My soup diet is guiltily from cans. I am not a cook. I am pretty much a bachelor and eating something that is quick and tasty fits my bill. At least, when I am eating in, which is most of the time nowadays. But soup is satisfying to me and fills me up. I toss in a slice of whole wheat bread for extra nutrients and fiber. The sodium content is high (c'mon now, it is from a can) but I typically thin it out with a bit of water and then drink a lot of water later to avoid Barney Rubble feet and tummy bloat.
Homemade, of course, is much better. If you have the time. I think I may make homemade soup about once a year. I am much better at doctored up soup. Tossing fresh cut up vegetables into a can of chicken broth or plain tomato soup. That is for convenience and time. I have made homemade soup stock and, admittedly, I can make it in about half an hour in the pressure cooker. But I never have chicken bones on hand. Making homemade soup takes planning and I am usually a spur of the moment eater giving into the craving of the moment.
Soup's on...however you decide to go about it.
My soup diet is guiltily from cans. I am not a cook. I am pretty much a bachelor and eating something that is quick and tasty fits my bill. At least, when I am eating in, which is most of the time nowadays. But soup is satisfying to me and fills me up. I toss in a slice of whole wheat bread for extra nutrients and fiber. The sodium content is high (c'mon now, it is from a can) but I typically thin it out with a bit of water and then drink a lot of water later to avoid Barney Rubble feet and tummy bloat.
Homemade, of course, is much better. If you have the time. I think I may make homemade soup about once a year. I am much better at doctored up soup. Tossing fresh cut up vegetables into a can of chicken broth or plain tomato soup. That is for convenience and time. I have made homemade soup stock and, admittedly, I can make it in about half an hour in the pressure cooker. But I never have chicken bones on hand. Making homemade soup takes planning and I am usually a spur of the moment eater giving into the craving of the moment.
Soup's on...however you decide to go about it.
Monday, November 2, 2009
No More Trauma Drama
Sigh. NBC has cancelled Trauma. I was hoping it would make it. It is filmed locally. It is always fun trying to figure out what street or neighborhood they are filming. They filmed one episode in front of my old office building. Wish I was there but sure they were filming on a Sunday. Hint - there was no congested foot and vehicle traffic. Mostly bummed that my friend's partner will be let go from this gig. Way bummer.
Sunday, November 1, 2009
Slicked
Grrrrrr...another oil spill in the bay. At first, the report was just a few gallons but then it turns out to be a few hundred gallons. Grrrrrrr! That affects not just everyone in the Bay Area but all of the birds, marine animals, beaches, everything else you can think of. The Bay Area has already been hit with a large number of marine mammals needing assistance because of lack of food from something happening in the waters. This was detected early but not much was done to prevent further spread.
Grrrrr...
Grrrrr...
Saturday, October 31, 2009
Boo!
Boo! Happy Halloween!
Tee hee. This is the time of year that everyone alike - kids and big kids - think about candy. There is candy all over. I am trying to resist buying bags and bags of it. No one to share it with. I am not a candy freak but I enjoy buying candy for others to enjoy. I wonder how the economy will affect it this year. I have been progressively seeing dwindling numbers of kids over the past years and years. Well, we shall see. I hope the kids have fun. Big and little.
Boo!
Tee hee. This is the time of year that everyone alike - kids and big kids - think about candy. There is candy all over. I am trying to resist buying bags and bags of it. No one to share it with. I am not a candy freak but I enjoy buying candy for others to enjoy. I wonder how the economy will affect it this year. I have been progressively seeing dwindling numbers of kids over the past years and years. Well, we shall see. I hope the kids have fun. Big and little.
Boo!
Friday, October 30, 2009
Happy Hour Friday - Screwdriver
Hmmm...I did not want to list any exotic drinks that have pumpkin (for Halloween). I want to keep the happy hours easy. But something orange or black. Espresso martinis came to mind but not everyone will have espresso around. I will save that for a future happy hour. How about something plain and simple like a Screwdriver. Almost everyone's first exposure to alcoholic drinks.
Screwdriver
Screwdriver
- Fill ice in a tall glass.
- Add 1 oz. vodka.
- Fill with orange juice.
Boo!
Thursday, October 29, 2009
Darn it, Obi-Wan!
Saw Angels and Demons awhile ago. A coupla months ago, I think. Still tripping. Dang it.
If you have seen it then you know what my comment means. If not, check out the movie.
Dang it.
If you have seen it then you know what my comment means. If not, check out the movie.
Dang it.
Wednesday, October 28, 2009
Bridge Chaos
Well. The Bay Area has made national news. The Bay Bridge has been closed due to a beam falling onto the bridge. Fortunately, no one was injured. This brings back memories of when the bridge was closed from the Loma Prieta earthquake. We did have scheduled closures the past coupla years but that was widely advertised. This is a sudden closure. The commute is a mess. All over. Blech. Let's hope this closure does not last too long. What a mess.
Tuesday, October 27, 2009
Klingonese
OMG! I found it. My audio tapes on how to learn to speak Klingonese. But sad to say that I did say audio tapes. What to do now? Find an old Walkman somewhere? See if I can find them in CD form? Sigh. I will just have to ponder that for a later time as this is not the time to be frilly with expenses. But I am happy to just find them. Guess it does not take much nowadays.
:-D
:-D
Monday, October 26, 2009
Totally Fried
As in fried chicken. I blew through one of those supermarket take-out fried chicken dinners. Only got through two drumsticks and three thighs. I traded my two wings for one thigh with my sister. She digs wings and, well, I like buffalo wings and not too much into fried chicken wings. Funny though how I said "only" when that is actually quite a meal for most folks. Heck. What can I say? I like to eat! I enjoy the experience - the taste, the sensation, the whole gig. Some people just eat to eat. Not me. The experience for me all the way.
I admit that I ate the skin this time. I usually tear off the skin since it contains about 40% of the fat calories and fat is not all that good for you anyway. At least not chicken skin fat. Okay, okay, okay. Maybe for schmaltz. I got the chicken from the hot food side this time. I usually get the cold fried chicken. But today, I wanted the crunchiness of the chicken skin. I just had too much of it and will surely pay for it tomorrow.
I admit that I ate the skin this time. I usually tear off the skin since it contains about 40% of the fat calories and fat is not all that good for you anyway. At least not chicken skin fat. Okay, okay, okay. Maybe for schmaltz. I got the chicken from the hot food side this time. I usually get the cold fried chicken. But today, I wanted the crunchiness of the chicken skin. I just had too much of it and will surely pay for it tomorrow.
Saturday, October 24, 2009
Trotter Craving
It hit me again. Craving for pig's feet. Chinese pickled pig's feet made with black vinegar, ginger and whatever else is in there. Which means I hit up the all-you-can-eat hot pot joint. Today it is really, really busy. First, a van full of Korean tourists arrive. They eye spy the pig's feet. Oh oh. I think they are going after it. Good thing I already filled up one plate. I actually ended up filling up another plateful. Two down. Then a busload of Chinese tourists disembarks. Oh, I am really deep competition now. Yep. I realize I cannot get through this crowd. I shall wait unless I feel like getting into something ugly. No YouTube vids today!
Bottom line. I had way, way too much to eat. I think I just put back on the few pounds I just lost last week. It is probably a wash at this point. Crap. Now I have to start all over again to get those pesky pounds back off. No fun if one is an eater.
:-\
Bottom line. I had way, way too much to eat. I think I just put back on the few pounds I just lost last week. It is probably a wash at this point. Crap. Now I have to start all over again to get those pesky pounds back off. No fun if one is an eater.
:-\
Friday, October 23, 2009
Happy Hour Friday - Pink Squirrel
Since it is Breast Cancer Awareness month, I thought it would be fitting to have a pink cocktail for this week.
Pink Squirrel
Pink Squirrel
- Fill a martini shaker with ice.
- Add 1 oz. vodka
- Add 2 oz. lemonade
- Add a dash of grenadine
- Shake until blended and drink is cold.
- Strain into a martini glass.
Thursday, October 22, 2009
Think Pink
I am sure you are well aware that October is Breast Cancer Awareness month. (C'mon now. The media is blitzing all over about it.) I hope you all will find opportunities to support the cause. I, personally, am eye spying the Bloomie's umbrella for only $12 (!!). At the very least, think about the cause and ones you may know who have been affected by this disease.
Wednesday, October 21, 2009
More Protein?
Speaking of beef...
I went on Jillian Michael's website to check it out. (She is one of the personal trainers on The Biggest Loser.) I went through one of the assessment tools just to play around. I enter my height, weight, age, gender, current weight and target weight.
It bounces back that my food ratio should be 50/30/20 (50% protein, 30% fat, 20% carbs). This is interesting. It is different from Zone philosophy (40/30/30) which is the usual standard for most people. I am what is termed a "fast oxidizer" since I crave salty snacks, meat and cheese. So, it turns out that my high protein meals were okay to a point. I am supposed to have protein at each meal. Okay, that is fine. I got that one. But I was surprised at the 50% figure. I had went on an extremely high protein diet years and years ago. I can tell you that the ketosis effect is true. Gack. I remember my kidneys aching from trying to process all that protein.
So, now, this assessment tells me to find that happy medium to attack that belly fat (sorry, girls, you know we all have it) and wherever else. This should not be too much of a problem. Well, maybe. I have to get the right portion of protein right. As you may have already read, I am a beef freak. Toss a steak in front of me and I get downright crazy. Stand back and dunt talk to me. Things will be flying and you may get into the crossfire. Outta the way!
I went on Jillian Michael's website to check it out. (She is one of the personal trainers on The Biggest Loser.) I went through one of the assessment tools just to play around. I enter my height, weight, age, gender, current weight and target weight.
It bounces back that my food ratio should be 50/30/20 (50% protein, 30% fat, 20% carbs). This is interesting. It is different from Zone philosophy (40/30/30) which is the usual standard for most people. I am what is termed a "fast oxidizer" since I crave salty snacks, meat and cheese. So, it turns out that my high protein meals were okay to a point. I am supposed to have protein at each meal. Okay, that is fine. I got that one. But I was surprised at the 50% figure. I had went on an extremely high protein diet years and years ago. I can tell you that the ketosis effect is true. Gack. I remember my kidneys aching from trying to process all that protein.
So, now, this assessment tells me to find that happy medium to attack that belly fat (sorry, girls, you know we all have it) and wherever else. This should not be too much of a problem. Well, maybe. I have to get the right portion of protein right. As you may have already read, I am a beef freak. Toss a steak in front of me and I get downright crazy. Stand back and dunt talk to me. Things will be flying and you may get into the crossfire. Outta the way!
Tuesday, October 20, 2009
Beef Attack
I wonder if my upstairs neighbor is ever bothered by my beef attacks. He is a vegetarian and his kitchen is right above mine. I think you can get the idea that I like to eat a honking steak every now and then. Well, maybe more than now and then. Okay, maybe more than the occasional now and then. I can imagine that he can hear the loud sear of meat. And the smell. I bet it wafts right on up even though I have the stove fan on when I am doing a quick sear. Okay, let me tell you that I like my beef seared on the outside and practically still moving on the inside. More than rare. I have been known to make people queasy just by looking at how raw (yes, raw not rare) my beef is cooked (cooked is actually not a good description). To top it all off, I wonder how he reacts when he hears me sharpening my knife on the electric knife sharpener. The squeal from the device is unique and everyone knows what is going on -- sharpening for the slaughter. Dunt get me wrong. I am much of a salad eater (Peppermill size; think of my nemesis Portion Control) but my body just needs iron at times. So, I make a quick sear and a much quicker retreat out of the kitchen with my dinner.
Oh, forgot to mention that my nemesis Portion Control is always behind me. The steak was a pretty healthy 1-1/2 pounds. I probably have an inner wish to be a competitive eater. Not much of a healthy portion by their standards but pretty big nonetheless (I have done much more damage before).
Gadz, I really like to eat...
Oh, forgot to mention that my nemesis Portion Control is always behind me. The steak was a pretty healthy 1-1/2 pounds. I probably have an inner wish to be a competitive eater. Not much of a healthy portion by their standards but pretty big nonetheless (I have done much more damage before).
Gadz, I really like to eat...
Monday, October 19, 2009
Surprise Treat
Found -- a few pieces of macadamia clusters. Hiding in the pantry corner. I tossed them there so I would not fall into the mindless eating trap. Well, they will work for me today. I will think of Hawaii while I am savoring these treats. Yummmm...
Sunday, October 18, 2009
Reese's Found!
I (finally!) found the dark chocolate Reese's peanut butter cups at Walgreen's. Hmpf. I totally forgot to check for the coco-MMers. Well, I can report that the p-butter cups are not bad. I still wonder what took them so long to get that a-ha moment. I am one of those Reese's eaters who take a bite and then like to have it melt in my mouth. It is that mouth feel that does it for me. Mmmmm...yummy...gooey...tasty...
Saturday, October 17, 2009
E-quake Anniversary
Today is the 20th anniversary (!!!) of the Loma Prieta earthquake. This is the earthquake that locals call "The Big One" although the experts say the big one is yet to come. This earthquake was seen around the world since it happened during the World Series held in San Francisco that year. The news showed the devastation -- the Bay Bridge collapsed, the Marina District engulfed in flames. All the power was knocked out and the city was covered in total darkness. It was such an eerie sight. It was also strangely quiet in the streets.
Everyone has a "where were you" story for that day. For me, I was on the commuter bus headed home and we were sitting at a red light at Pine and Leavenworth on the hill. Suddenly, the bus shook. I thought we were rear ended. I looked out the window to my left and saw the streetlight bending and flipping up and down. "What is going on" raced through my mind. The bus continues on its course through the blank lights and when we hit Van Ness (a main cross street) there were lots and lots of people who had run out of buildings into the middle islands for safety. I put on my Walkman (yes, it was that long ago) and try to hit up a radio station. I could only get an AM station. They reported that we had a huge earthquake. It was unbelievable. But true.
And, now, it is the 20th anniversary of that earthquake. It is a bit hard to believe that so much time had passed. Thinking of it brings tears to my eyes.
Everyone has a "where were you" story for that day. For me, I was on the commuter bus headed home and we were sitting at a red light at Pine and Leavenworth on the hill. Suddenly, the bus shook. I thought we were rear ended. I looked out the window to my left and saw the streetlight bending and flipping up and down. "What is going on" raced through my mind. The bus continues on its course through the blank lights and when we hit Van Ness (a main cross street) there were lots and lots of people who had run out of buildings into the middle islands for safety. I put on my Walkman (yes, it was that long ago) and try to hit up a radio station. I could only get an AM station. They reported that we had a huge earthquake. It was unbelievable. But true.
And, now, it is the 20th anniversary of that earthquake. It is a bit hard to believe that so much time had passed. Thinking of it brings tears to my eyes.
Friday, October 16, 2009
Happy Hour Friday - Vodka Tonic
I feel like something light and simple for today's happy hour. How about a Vodka Tonic.
Vodka Tonic
Vodka Tonic
- Fill a tall glass with ice.
- Add 1 oz. vodka.
- Fill with tonic water.
- Add lime garnish.
Cheers!
Thursday, October 15, 2009
Tut-ally Awesome!
I finally attended the Tut exhibit. Totally awesome. No pics though since photos were not allowed...bummer but expected. It is amazing how the ancient Egyptians made and carved these intricate relics. Amazing...
Wednesday, October 14, 2009
Bacon Maple Bar
This is the story on my experiment with maple donut bars with bacon.
I had been watching the Travel Channel and caught a story at Voodoo Donuts in Portland. I thought about the concoction and figured it would be worth a try to check it out. Think about it. We have had bacon with pancakes and syrup so the combo should work, right? One of my favorite donuts (when I am being bad eating not so healthy food) is a custard filled maple bar anyway.
I decided to tweak it a bit differently. Instead of placing bacon strips on top of the maple bar, I thought I would cut a slit into the donut and place the strips inside sandwich-like. Verdict - not bad but needs work. I bought the maple bar from a local grocery store instead of going to the local donut shop. I was expecting the chewiness I usually get from the donuts at the donut shop. The grocery store bar was a bit more cakey than I would like. But not bad.
Food is so fun. You do know by now that I like to eat, right?
...yummmmm...
I had been watching the Travel Channel and caught a story at Voodoo Donuts in Portland. I thought about the concoction and figured it would be worth a try to check it out. Think about it. We have had bacon with pancakes and syrup so the combo should work, right? One of my favorite donuts (when I am being bad eating not so healthy food) is a custard filled maple bar anyway.
I decided to tweak it a bit differently. Instead of placing bacon strips on top of the maple bar, I thought I would cut a slit into the donut and place the strips inside sandwich-like. Verdict - not bad but needs work. I bought the maple bar from a local grocery store instead of going to the local donut shop. I was expecting the chewiness I usually get from the donuts at the donut shop. The grocery store bar was a bit more cakey than I would like. But not bad.
Food is so fun. You do know by now that I like to eat, right?
...yummmmm...
Tuesday, October 13, 2009
Stormy
Sigh. Stormy and windy day today. First major seasonal rainstorm. The only bright side to this storm (supposedly 2-5 inches depending on location) is that, hopefully, this will help with the water level since we have been in a slight (...) draught this past year. We all could use the rain/water. But the gloom is such a bummer. But a chuckle comes. It reminds me of Snoopy sitting on top of his doghouse typing away and writing something that starts off with "it was a dark and stormy night..."
Monday, October 12, 2009
PB&B
As in peanut butter and bacon. Sandwich. I caught this somewhere on the telly. It had to be either the Food Network or the Travel Channel. Probably the Travel Channel. My sister called it one of the Elvis sandwiches. Not the heart and artery clogging one with bananas but one of them.
This had started with the Travel Channel episode at Voodoo Donuts. They have a maple bar and bacon donut and I have been fixated on experimenting with my own version. More about that on another day.
But back to PB&B. Not bad at all. It is the sweet/salty combo that does it. Peanut butter smeared on hot whole wheat toast (that is a good combo in itself). Smeared on both sides, of course, with the bacon strips in the middle so that both sides of the bacon is covered with warm, gooey peanut butter. Mmmmmm...yummy...
I have to admit that one must have that taste for it. My guess is that it is more a gal thing than a guy thing.
Tasty...
This had started with the Travel Channel episode at Voodoo Donuts. They have a maple bar and bacon donut and I have been fixated on experimenting with my own version. More about that on another day.
But back to PB&B. Not bad at all. It is the sweet/salty combo that does it. Peanut butter smeared on hot whole wheat toast (that is a good combo in itself). Smeared on both sides, of course, with the bacon strips in the middle so that both sides of the bacon is covered with warm, gooey peanut butter. Mmmmmm...yummy...
I have to admit that one must have that taste for it. My guess is that it is more a gal thing than a guy thing.
Tasty...
Sunday, October 11, 2009
Blue Angels Revisted
The Blue Angels show did get called off yesterday due to the yucky weather. Not surprised. But it took us over an hour to get off that bridge due to the congested traffic. All the busses were packed and the traffic barely moved. And it was freezing. It was windy and I am hoping that we do not catch a chill from hanging out there so long. Such a long, long wait just to go about a mile.
The weather is about the same today so we decide not to repeat the antics from yesterday. But, to my surprise, the Blue Angels did perform. They adjusted the show to fly only low maneuvers since the clouds and fog were a safety concern. I am happy they did fly so their fans would not be disappointed. But I missed the show. Oh, well. Another missed opp. But, hopefully, the weather will hold up next year and I will catch that one!
The weather is about the same today so we decide not to repeat the antics from yesterday. But, to my surprise, the Blue Angels did perform. They adjusted the show to fly only low maneuvers since the clouds and fog were a safety concern. I am happy they did fly so their fans would not be disappointed. But I missed the show. Oh, well. Another missed opp. But, hopefully, the weather will hold up next year and I will catch that one!
Saturday, October 10, 2009
Blue About Angels
The weather has been iffy all morning. It has been overcast with a wee bit of fog. Willl it hold up for the Blue Angels show this afternoon? I was going to see their practice run yesterday but decided to wait for the weekend to see it with my sister (we hang out as much as we can; she is all I have for family). We decide to make a run for it. We jumped on the bus and got off at the Golden Gate Bridge. The best place to view the show is either on the Marina Green but the traffic is fierce. But we jumped off at the lookout point at the bridge. Not the most ideal place but one can see most of the show from this vantage point.
The Blue Angels flew over for a little then...nothing. We wait. And wait. And then we see the boats on the bay moving off. Leaving. Hmpf. Is the show over? Maybe the weather hosed it all up. Sigh. Oh, well. Maybe we can catch it tomorrow if the fog blow out.
The Blue Angels flew over for a little then...nothing. We wait. And wait. And then we see the boats on the bay moving off. Leaving. Hmpf. Is the show over? Maybe the weather hosed it all up. Sigh. Oh, well. Maybe we can catch it tomorrow if the fog blow out.
Friday, October 9, 2009
Happy Hour Friday - Cuba Libre
Basically a Rum and Coke with a lime slice.
Cuba Libre
Cuba Libre
- Fill tall glass with ice. Add 1 oz. rum and fill with Coke.
Cheers!!
Thursday, October 8, 2009
Tut-ally Missed
Oh oh. Blew it. Missed my Will Call opportunity to pick up my King Tut exhibit tickets. By the time I finally got to the museum, I missed the window by about a coupla minutes. Just closed. Argh.
Sigh. I will follow up tomorrow and see if I can reschedule those tickets. I wanted to take my sister out to the show. It had been years and years since we had last seen such an exhibit. We were little kids. Probably on a school field trip. (Remember those?) Although, I am a bit bummed (and mad at myself) about juuuuust missing the window, I will not let that mess up the anticipation of seeing the exhibit.
Sigh. I will follow up tomorrow and see if I can reschedule those tickets. I wanted to take my sister out to the show. It had been years and years since we had last seen such an exhibit. We were little kids. Probably on a school field trip. (Remember those?) Although, I am a bit bummed (and mad at myself) about juuuuust missing the window, I will not let that mess up the anticipation of seeing the exhibit.
Wednesday, October 7, 2009
Blue Angels
The Blue Angels are in town! They flew in this morning into the Bay Area for Fleet Week and will be performing this weekend over San Francisco Bay in addition to other performers. I hope the weather holds up (meaning no fog). The Blue Angels are always heart stopping. Definitely a show to see.
Tuesday, October 6, 2009
The Mist
It is another drizzly foggy day out. Sigh. It has been like this most of the summer. Even when the temperature rose downtown, it stayed cool and foggy out here closer to the beach. Summer means that the fog is heavier, whiter, thicker and closer to the ground. Drizzly enough to wake up to wet streets. Traveling home from downtown on the bus means going through numerous micro-climates. When the bus chugs up the hill towards the neighborhood, you are hit with a wall of thick fog. It makes me think of Stephen King's The Mist. That is how I visualized his novel of creepy creatures living within that realm. What awaits ahead in the midst of the mist? I crawl out of my imagination fog as I am nearing my stop. I ring the buzzer, get off the bus, pull my hood over my head and walk towards the house. I will have to wonder on another day of what lies within the mist.
Monday, October 5, 2009
Reese's
Oh, my! Reese's peanut butter cups with dark chocolate. Well, geez, what took them so long? Oh, my. Now I really have to get one and try it. I am not a chocoholic but dark chocolate is my preference over milk. Reese's minis are the right combo of chocolate and peanut butter. Now, let's see how they do with the dark chocolate. Oh, my...
Sunday, October 4, 2009
Castro Street Fair
Castro Street Fair in San Francisco today from 11:00a.m. to 6:00p.m. Have a great time if you are attending.
Saturday, October 3, 2009
Pig(feet)ed Out
My sister and I ended up at the Chinese hot pot/all you can eat restaurant. I like going to this place since it has the Chinese version of pickled pig's feet and is the only place I can find this dish. This dish used to be sold at a Chinese deli but it went out of business years ago. The pig's feet is made with black vinegar, ginger, sugar and whatever else. I should look up the recipe and make it one day. For me, this is an old childhood favorite and a craving hits once in awhile. Not quite on the delicacy list (far from it) but it is tasty. Well, to me, that is. Needless to say, I had a whole plate of the pig's feet (hit the buffet twice for these). Pigged/porked out! (oink, oink) Literally...
Friday, October 2, 2009
Music Festivals This Weekend
If you are in San Francisco over the weekend:
The annual Love Parade (now called LovEvolution) is happening tomorow on Market Street in San Francisco. The parade heads up to the Civic Center where a large dance/music festival is held. A cool venue for those who are into dance music. Lots of DJs and many afterparties over the weekend.
Also this weekend is the Hardly Strictly Bluegrass Festival to be held in Golden Gate Park. Lots of rock musicians and other entertainers.
The annual Love Parade (now called LovEvolution) is happening tomorow on Market Street in San Francisco. The parade heads up to the Civic Center where a large dance/music festival is held. A cool venue for those who are into dance music. Lots of DJs and many afterparties over the weekend.
Also this weekend is the Hardly Strictly Bluegrass Festival to be held in Golden Gate Park. Lots of rock musicians and other entertainers.
Thursday, October 1, 2009
Fall Into Winter
Now that summer has entered in the fall season, a sign of upcoming winter -- holiday seasonal decorations. The city has already put up their holiday lights on one of the main streets in downtown. I eye spied them a few weeks ago and thought how funny because I was wearing a tank top and flip flops out on a nice sunny day. Huh. Well, go figure.
Wednesday, September 30, 2009
Another E-Quake
Another major earthquake. In Indonesia. Gosh, what is happening? Indonesia has been hit with many major disasters in the past few years. It seems like they are always in some type of recovery mode. The earthquakes are a reminder of our own past major temblor -- Loma Prieta. We know, all to well, how devasting an earthquake can be and the loss...all in less than a minute.
Tuesday, September 29, 2009
Sue-Nah-Me
Tsunami. There is a tsunami watch here tonight because of the devasting 8.3 earthquake in Samoa. At first, I was in disbelief. From so far away? But then I read more about the earthquake. So terrible. Think of the Samoan people tonight and keep them in your prayers.
Monday, September 28, 2009
New Show
Trauma. A new series is premiering tonight. My best guy buddy's partner is the make-up artist for the show. Filmed in San Francisco (actually Treasure Island) and the show is based in the City. Watch it tonight!
Saturday, September 26, 2009
Summer Day
Finally. A summer day in the City. But I am downtown today and am sure it is foggy out by the beach. And, yes, it is Fall. Summer in Fall. Yep. A nice day, so no complaints. I will take it.
Friday, September 25, 2009
Fall Signs
Sure sign of fall -- the pumpkin bin replaced the watermelon bin at Safeway. Sigh...still waiting for my summer...
Thursday, September 24, 2009
Beef Challenge
I am not sure why I feel compelled to go toe-to-toe with a big hunk of meat. Maybe because I used to eat like a guy. Meaning more than I should.
Picture RibFest in Sparks (near Reno), Nevada. One year, I blew through 28 (or was it more?) ribs. I just had to taste every competitor's ribs. What can I say? I ate the most at our table, obviously. And there were two firemen at the table. Maybe it was just the competitive side of me. Or maybe it was all-you-can-eat. I mean, that is nearly my middle name -- either Buffet or All You Can Eat.
That is probably when I first met my nemesis, Portion Control. Nah, maybe not. I think it was a lot earlier in life.
For this past year, I have been dealing with Speed Bump, the nickname for my fibroid. Speed Bump has been competing with space so I have been eating less (believe it or not!) since I get that full feeling quicker. (Gee...thanks, Speed Bump -- yeah, sarcasm).
Picture RibFest in Sparks (near Reno), Nevada. One year, I blew through 28 (or was it more?) ribs. I just had to taste every competitor's ribs. What can I say? I ate the most at our table, obviously. And there were two firemen at the table. Maybe it was just the competitive side of me. Or maybe it was all-you-can-eat. I mean, that is nearly my middle name -- either Buffet or All You Can Eat.
That is probably when I first met my nemesis, Portion Control. Nah, maybe not. I think it was a lot earlier in life.
For this past year, I have been dealing with Speed Bump, the nickname for my fibroid. Speed Bump has been competing with space so I have been eating less (believe it or not!) since I get that full feeling quicker. (Gee...thanks, Speed Bump -- yeah, sarcasm
Today, I just feel like duking it out with beef. Been having a craving for it lately. Could be my body needing to replenish iron. I guess that excuse can fly, right? Decided to go after a 2-lb. slab of beef. Well, almost made it. I probably left about 4 ounces. Not bad.
Irony, though, that I know what portions I should eat. Or not. I am just blatantly ignoring them. Rebel nature? Nah, just hungry.
Gosh, this gurl sure likes to eat...
Wednesday, September 23, 2009
Comcast Update
Well, this seems to be worse than I anticipated. It was bad but this is even worse. I have rescheduled my DVR installation since the technician did not have a working DVR. Yes, I said DVR. The equipment and service that I did not want. It appears that having another receiver, splitter and A/B box is inadequate and will not be able to record programs without some manual intervention. What does this mean? That I will not be able to record several programs on different channels without changing to that channel prior to recording. There is no point. This means, for example, that I cannot be away for any length of time. This method renders existing equipment (i.e., VCR, DVD-R) totally USELESS. This type of equipment will no longer have control over the programming since the receiver will be the primary interface. This totally, totally blows.
More to come after my installation.
More to come after my installation.
Tuesday, September 22, 2009
Comcast - Revisited
Okay...more to come. I have scheduled a follow-up appointment. Apparently, I need a DVR! There is something so wrong in Mayberry. According to the technician, all of my equipment will be rendered useless because of these new dangfangled receivers. Ugggghhhhhh...I will wait until Friday to make a final judgment but I know I will be filing an FCC complaint. There must be many others out there who are experiencing the same situation. A conspiracy methinks.
Monday, September 21, 2009
Miss(ed) Manners
What happened to good old fashioned manners? It seems like the youngsters have no manners. I am on a crowded bus and a teen pretty much slams through people to grab a seat. Not even an "excuse me" to top it off. Oh, and she was yakking loudly on the phone during this time. There was a lady who, in my humble opinion, should have been offered the seat. In my youth, I was taught to offer the seat to persons older than myself. Gosh, I really wanted to just smack this gal on the back of her head and ask what is wrong with her.
Oh, and do not get me started on people who keep their backpacks on during the bus ride. Take them off and place it on the floor between your feet. No one wants to edge their way through a blockade of backpacks. Take them off!
Miss(ed) manners...
Get some manners!
Oh, and do not get me started on people who keep their backpacks on during the bus ride. Take them off and place it on the floor between your feet. No one wants to edge their way through a blockade of backpacks. Take them off!
Miss(ed) manners...
Sunday, September 20, 2009
Duking It Out With Comcast
Well, it seems to be cable's turn. I am fighting with Comcast this time. They are, apparently, upgrading their digital service (really???) probably to compete with the other carriers. Well, it seems that we all need additional equipment just to receive the signals for some of the stations. If you do not have the equipment then you lose some (quite a lot) of your stations. So, months ago they sent a big box containing three different receivers. I connected them and pretty much tore them out not too long after. I decided to just wait until I lose those channels. Well, that time came about a month ago and I have connected those darn things. BUT, I find out that I can no longer record one channel while viewing another. Huhhhh??? Whaddup with that?? So, now I am fighting with Comcast to just get what the same level of previous service. One rep flat out says, "That ain't gonna happen." The scam is they try to sell you their DVR service. Which I do not need. All I need is an extra receiver, a splitter and an A/B switch for each of the televisions. I had to escalate up to a supervisor. Admittedly, I yelled my way through this which is really unfortunate. I have to wonder how many people have been misled and paid extra money for equipment and services they do not need. I will look into filing an FCC complaint. So what is next? Comcast will send out a technician and hook up what is necessary (hopefully, NOT a DVR) and give me a free year of equipment rental. But this is still ludicrous because that means that additional equipment fees will apply at some point just to receive the same level of service. That really blows. I will wait and see what happens tomorrow after the technician arrives. More to come...
Saturday, September 19, 2009
Pesky Mercury
Dang that pesky Mercury. He is still around creating electronic chaos. Or is it just coincidence that whenever I have an iTunes update, my router gets wonked off. Hmmmmm...when is this dude scatting out anyway??
Friday, September 18, 2009
Happy Hour Friday - Greyhound
One of my go-to drinks...
Greyhound
Greyhound
- Fill ice in a tall glass
- Add 1 oz. vodka
- Fill with grapefruit juice (my preference is red grapefruit juice; try Simply Juice)
Thursday, September 17, 2009
Retro
Geeeeeeez, Mercury must still be in retrograde or something. My phone went wonky and I got Apple's version of blue screen. Phone would not budge. Nothing. Nada. Just the Apple logo staring back at me. I had to do a major reset and restore. Funny coincidence -- my warranty just expired...yesterday! Hmmmm...some would think it was a timed conspiracy to nudge someone into buying an extended warranty.
Wednesday, September 16, 2009
Just Like Barney
I have Barney Rubble feet today. I did a bad thing last night. I ate a can of vegetarian chili late at night. What can I say? I was hungry. But I am paying for it today. The high sodium content of that chili has all pooled down to my feet. They are bloated and puffy and look just like Barney Rubble's. It is uncomfortable when I walk. Sigh. Time to hit the water to get this flushed out. Glug, glug, glug...
Tuesday, September 15, 2009
Monday, September 14, 2009
Food Coma
I...am...just...waking...up...from...my...food...coma. (yawn) Just for the record, I only ate half of my prime rib and took the rest to go for a snack.
Sunday, September 13, 2009
Another B-Day Celebration
Celebrating my sister's b-day with her friend. Chomping on a prime rib dinner with an all you can eat salad buffet. And we are certainly all we can eating. Oh, gosh, I know I am going to pig out. I feel the food coma coming already...
Saturday, September 12, 2009
Beach Time
Ma Nature decided to be partly cloudy, which for a beach day, is partly bummer. I wanted to work on getting a tan but it seems like this may not work in my favor. Yes, yes, yes...tans are on the out and bad lists but, hey, I look good in a tan. So, maybe I just feel guilty for a wee moment. But the feel of sand and surf on my toes is calling me.
Friday, September 11, 2009
Sad Anniversary
Today is September 11th. This day is one we all will not forget. Today we mourn for all who have fallen on this day years ago.
Thursday, September 10, 2009
Wednesday, September 9, 2009
999
Happy 999! September 9, 2009, that is. Chinese believe the number nine is lucky...so wishing you a lucky day.
Tuesday, September 8, 2009
Monday, September 7, 2009
Laboring on Labor Day
Geez. I remember laboring on Labor Day one year (or was it two, three). Yeah, for real. I thought it was ironic. That one year I spent most of my holidays working on one case or another. So, today, my thoughts go out there for those laboring on Labor Day.
Sunday, September 6, 2009
Nachos Grande
Sigh. Okay. This is more than just plain nachos (nausea). It is turning into a nasty stomach ache. Ouch.
Saturday, September 5, 2009
Nachos
Not the good, yummy kind. Nachos as in nauseous. My sister calls it nachos instead of nauseous. I adopted it because it sounds cute. At least, much better than nauseous. Had a heavy breakfast. Not heavy as in too much but what I had for breakfast. Too much protein (meat). Blech. Nachos. I think I will stick to oatmeal for breakfast.
Friday, September 4, 2009
Thoughts of Peppermill
My nemesis, Portion Control, has won again tonight. I had a nice healthy salad but, come on now, there is no reason why I should be eating a Peppermill size portion. Other than I like to eat. (chuckle)
Thursday, September 3, 2009
Wednesday, September 2, 2009
Tuesday, September 1, 2009
Costume Party
I was heading downtown on the bus and we passed a film shoot on break. This must be the shoot for Trauma, the drama series coming this fall. My buddy's partner is the make-up artist (boy, he really is an artist with a capital A) for the series and he had some Halloween costume accessories for the upcoming shoot about a costume party.
At the party, he had me try on long sleeve gloves with leopard trim, matching leopard pillbox hat and matching leopard glasses. I call the get-up the Norma outfit. It was so cute and was just up my personality alley. I think I will get a set for myself.
So, watch Trauma when it rolls out this fall season!
At the party, he had me try on long sleeve gloves with leopard trim, matching leopard pillbox hat and matching leopard glasses. I call the get-up the Norma outfit. It was so cute and was just up my personality alley. I think I will get a set for myself.
So, watch Trauma when it rolls out this fall season!
Monday, August 31, 2009
Gosh, it looks like a plasma bag...
Hee hee. Okay, I admit it. As much as I enjoy a nice wine, I bought a boxed red wine. You know, the cheap watery red wine that comes in a box with a spigot. The wine is stored in a plastic bag in the box. I am finally down to the bottom of the box and decide to take the bag out of the box simply to make it easier to pour. So, I rip the box apart and pull out the bag. Gosh, darn, it reminds me of a plasma bag. Hahahahaha. Not like I really actually know what one really looks like but we all have seen them on those medical dramas. I am cracking up. Plasma bag. Okay, morbid but I find it hilarious.
Sunday, August 30, 2009
Watermelon Craving
All this nice weather has brought on a watermelon craving. It must be a craving for something nice, cold, sweet and juicy. I always loved watermelon since I was a kid. I only went through one this summer (loose term I am using living in the city) but the local supermarket has a whole bin of them this week. I decide to drag one home and it is hefty for its size. Awkward dragging it back home. It is like a heavy basketball. Whew. Made it home without too much difficulty other than having to shift it every six steps or so. Curiousity takes me to the scale. Scale waddles from the crooked size of the watermelon. Hah! Seems I dragged home a 15 pound watermelon.
I have plans. Plans for this watermelon. Why I did not think of dusting a little bit of li hing powder on the last watermelon escapes me. But I will do it this time. Li hing powder is made from dried salty plums and something of a Hawaiian thing. It is a sweet/salty slightly sour combo. It is dusted on mangoes to gummy bears. Even used in specialty cocktails. I had a Li Hing Martini once in Waikiki. One must have a taste for it.
Speaking of another sweet/salty combo for watermelon. Try adding watermelon cubes to a savory salad and add feta cheese. Ohhhhh, yummy...
I have plans. Plans for this watermelon. Why I did not think of dusting a little bit of li hing powder on the last watermelon escapes me. But I will do it this time. Li hing powder is made from dried salty plums and something of a Hawaiian thing. It is a sweet/salty slightly sour combo. It is dusted on mangoes to gummy bears. Even used in specialty cocktails. I had a Li Hing Martini once in Waikiki. One must have a taste for it.
Speaking of another sweet/salty combo for watermelon. Try adding watermelon cubes to a savory salad and add feta cheese. Ohhhhh, yummy...
Saturday, August 29, 2009
Hot, Hot, Hot!
Well, apparently, that earthquake weather from yesterday was just cloudy hot weather. It was a record breaking 96 degrees. In the city. Wow. Amazing. But this will not last. Usually only three days of nice weather then the fog rolls back in.
It is still a pretty decent day in the city today and the weather should make it a nice day for The Outlands music festival. It is in its second of three days of music. What a beautiful day for music.
It is still a pretty decent day in the city today and the weather should make it a nice day for The Outlands music festival. It is in its second of three days of music. What a beautiful day for music.
Friday, August 28, 2009
Earthquake Weather
Geeeez. If it were just a couple of degrees cooler (it is a muggy day today -- if one can imagine that in the city), it would be earthquake weather. It is a point in weather when the weather is fairly warm, muggy, no wind and overcast. A certain degree coupled with a certain cloud formation. Earthquake weather.
Thursday, August 27, 2009
Trash Thursdays
Meals on Thursdays usually depends on what is in the fridge that needs to go out -- half cans of whatever, leftovers, bags of whatever protein I have been lugging to the gym, fruit/vegetables on the verge, etc. I guess you can call it the Kitchen Sink Dinner. Definitely different each and every time. Methinks I will be wandering into the kitchen soon and see what the weekly special holds for me tonight.
Wednesday, August 26, 2009
Chillin' at Chevy's
Had lunch with one of my gal pals at Chevy's today. So happy to see her. She has always been so supportive. She always cracks me up and makes me smile. My eyes were bigger than my stomach. We both ordered a four-piece combo and I ended up taking home two tacos. Yummy!!
Another good day. Cherish your girlfriends and give them an extra hug when you see them.
Another good day. Cherish your girlfriends and give them an extra hug when you see them.
Tuesday, August 25, 2009
Mars Abounds
Whaddup with electronics today? Cable and dsl just went wonky. Mars must be lurking around somewhere wreaking havoc.
Monday, August 24, 2009
Girls' Nite In
Invited to Girls' Night at my buddy's house last night. He occasionally hosts a Girls' Nite with a few of us where we all get together, laugh, eat and be crazy.
His partner is working on the new series Trauma as the make-up artist. He had bags of costumes for an upcoming segment. He dressed us up in the different outfits and we all were in fits of laughter.
My buddy is the ultimate host. From appetizers to dinner he does it all. Another nice, intimate time with good friends.
His partner is working on the new series Trauma as the make-up artist. He had bags of costumes for an upcoming segment. He dressed us up in the different outfits and we all were in fits of laughter.
My buddy is the ultimate host. From appetizers to dinner he does it all. Another nice, intimate time with good friends.
Saturday, August 22, 2009
Chowed Mein
Accckkkk. Pigged out. Again. Which means my nemesis, Portion Control, has won another round. My sister and I decided to go to the Dim Sum Nazi today. After munching on an order of dim sum -- three chicken siu mai and three har gow (shrimp dumplings) per person, we walked around the other Chinese take out deli joints. Sis and I decided to split a two pound box of chow mein. Yes, yes, yes. Been having a hankering for chow mein for about two weeks now. Go figure. It has been hours since lunch and I am still stuffed. Chowed mein...
Friday, August 21, 2009
Thursday, August 20, 2009
Coco-MMs Update
Well, heard back from M&Ms about the coconut limited edition. Apparently, this flavor is still on the market. I did check Walgreen's and they are still not yet in stock. Competitors out there, I guess. I will keep on the prowl...
Wednesday, August 19, 2009
Yummy!!
Appetizer of extra large black mussels in a champagne lemon butter sauce. Sea bass perfectly cooked (sauteed) to a slight crust. Moist and tender. Not a bit dry. Served with sauteed spinach and capers. Side of polenta studded with garlic chunks lightly sauteed with a chunky tomato sauce. Garlic bread with fresh oregano. Ahhhhhh...heaven...
(You know I like to eat, right?)
(You know I like to eat, right?)
Tuesday, August 18, 2009
Monday, August 17, 2009
Brrrrrrrrrrrr!!
Just got in from running an errand. It is hecka cold outside. I am wearing my winter jacket. One gal was wearing a scarf and mittens. And it is windy. Giving me a weather brain freeze. It must be summer...
Saturday, August 15, 2009
New People Grand Opening
Sis and I went to J-Town to grab some lunch. We were in a ramen mood today. While we were in the restaurant, we hear...some rocking music. Huh. Wonder what is going on in the plaza today. Well, apparently, while we were slurping down our ramen the street outside had set up for a block party. The new store was opening (New People, I think it is called) and a party was going on. I was wondering why a lotta folks were dressed up in costume. Oh. Maybe that was just their regular clothes (???). Interesting crowd. Another stumbled upon event. Cool. In the plaza were these Japanese all girl rock bands playing. I find out this is a J-pop culture summit festival. So, is this what a taste of Japanese pop culture is like. Lots of people dressed in Harajuku-type clothes. Uhhhh, okayyyyy.
I have to get into the mall. Chicks walking around with Hello Kitty fans (just Hello Kitty heads on a stick). Gotta get me one. Get into the Sanrio store. All gone. Darn! I wanted one. Darn, darn, darn.
Oh, well, will just hang out and listen to Japanese rock...
I have to get into the mall. Chicks walking around with Hello Kitty fans (just Hello Kitty heads on a stick). Gotta get me one. Get into the Sanrio store. All gone. Darn! I wanted one. Darn, darn, darn.
Oh, well, will just hang out and listen to Japanese rock...
Friday, August 14, 2009
Trendy Pizza
Went out for pizzettas tonight. A pizaetta is a cracker thin crust pizza. This place is known for their trendy combinations and had wanted to check them out for a long time. Tonight was the night. Ordered two (eating out with my sister - thought for a minute both were for me, eh?). One was sorta basic - tomato, basil and (this is where it may be a bitsy trendy) white anchovies. Not sure there were other anchovies other than white but whatever. Other pizza (oh, excuse me - pizzetta) had chichi kind of bacon with a fried egg on top and arugula pesto. Different. Tasty though. Place is cool if you are open to this kind of food. Yummmmmmy...
Thursday, August 13, 2009
Whaddup With This Latest Craving?
Gaaaaccckkkk. Here I go again. Get this latest craving. Ramen. Not just ramen but the number one worst thing to eat... instant ramen. To be fair, there are healthy versions of instant ramen that are not fried and the fat content is fairly low. But...I hit the instant ramen. Was it craving or was it just because it was quick? Nooooooo. I could have made something else just as quick but a whole lot healthier. I guess it was just calling me. But this gets worse. Not just once. Or twice. But three times. Today. I just polished off my third pack of the day. I guess it could have been worse in a way. It could have been three packs in one sitting. ;-D (hee, hee) I think the mushroom water/ juice/runoff (the exuded water from cooking mushrooms; my sister gave it to me after she cooked a lot of mushrooms; she knows I love mushrooms) that was behind this. I think I was fixated on what I could use with the runoff water. Ramen. Ding, ding, ding! Ramen it is. Actually, ramen it was. Three times. Oh, well, at least I will not have Barney Rubble feet tomorrow from sodium swelling (if that is a consolation). Maybe just carb bloat. Gaaaacccccckkk.
Wednesday, August 12, 2009
Caramel vs. Oreos
Tee hee. So funny. I have a smoked salt milk choco caramel sitting in front of my computer. I think I put it there to test my resolve. On the other hand are these limited edition strawberry Oreos that I have not quite yet embraced (sounds like this right vs. left -- right/left, right/left -- thing again..repeater!) Yeah, I have had this caramel staring at me. But it is milk choco. And smoked salt? Ah, heck with it. Who are we kidding here? Let's go for it. The caramel, that is...
Done...history!
Done...history!
Tuesday, August 11, 2009
The Delivery Game
Sigh. I went to the gym early yesterday since I was expecting a UPS delivery. Thought I would get in a quick workout and head home before before the delivery. Delivery guy decides to pull one on me and attempts to make the delivery at 11:00a.m. Whaaaat?! That was early as heck. Oh, well, I will just have to wait for him tomorrow and then head off to the gym in the afternoon.
Waiting today. Waiting. Laying in wait. Being held hostage. UPS pulls another fast one on me. Delivery comes at 4:30p.m. (Or does that make it a slow one?) Got me again. Darn it. UPS 2, me 0. I think they must have some type of radar. Is this victimitis thinking that this only happens to me?
Waiting today. Waiting. Laying in wait. Being held hostage. UPS pulls another fast one on me. Delivery comes at 4:30p.m. (Or does that make it a slow one?) Got me again. Darn it. UPS 2, me 0. I think they must have some type of radar. Is this victimitis thinking that this only happens to me?
Monday, August 10, 2009
Sunday, August 9, 2009
Nihonmachi Street Fair
Went to the Nihonmachi Street Fair today. Snuck up on me. Saw that it was going on in JTown on the way home yesterday afternoon. This is a nice street fair in support of some of the local non-profit organizations.
Thankfully, it was a pretty nice day. Good entertainment.
Hit the site if you are interested in more information. Hope I will see you there next year...
http://www.nihonmachistreetfair.org
Thankfully, it was a pretty nice day. Good entertainment.
Hit the site if you are interested in more information. Hope I will see you there next year...
http://www.nihonmachistreetfair.org
Saturday, August 8, 2009
Coco-nutter Update
Pulled off the shelves. Wahhhhh. At least from the Walgreen's that last had boxes and boxes of them. Unless...there is another crazy coco-nutter out there buying up gobs of packs. Maybe that lady that gave me the stink eye when I bought the last packs at the outland Walgreen's? Hmmmm. Paranoia again. Sent an e-mail to the M&M site for confirmation. Rats. Must have missed my last opportunity by just a day or so. Argggggghhhhh!!! (Think Charlie Brown.)
Friday, August 7, 2009
Thursday, August 6, 2009
Lunch Anguish
Just stepped off the bus. Ahhhhhhhh...mmmmmmm...what do I smell? Smells like grilled burgers. Huh. The burger joint is over a (small) block away. The wind must be carrying over the tasty smell. My stomach starts to make a stir. Hungry. Just getting home from the gym, I need to eat to replenish. I was planning on making something healthy -- a salad loaded with veggies and slices of steak. But the burgers are making me think otherwise. It is something about smelling charred meat. These burgers are tasty. Made from angus beef and you put whatever you want on top. Build-a-burger. Do I? Should I? As I near the burger joint, I ponder again. Should I? Should I? Near the door. I look down to the pavement and quickly step up my pace. That burger will have to wait for another day. Home. Heading off to the fridge...
Monday, August 3, 2009
CocoMMs, Part 2
Oh, no. Panic. No coco-MMs at my local Walgreen's. All sold out. Head out later to the Walgreen's a bit further in the hood. Oh, no! Not here either. Guess I will check another store later.
Wake up today not feeling the panic yet. Hours go by and then, aha!, thought of the store in the outlands. Head there by bus. All I see is a gaping space where MMs were sold out. Oh, there you are, little cocos. I grab what is left and leave an empty box. (Number of packs intentionally not mentioned.) Head to the counter to pay for my loot. More at the counter. Only taking few more packs, feeling guilty. Oh, heck with it. These could be the very last ones I can find. Grab them all. (Still not mentioning number of packs.) From the corner of my left eye is a woman holding the empty box. She is asking the clerk if there are any more left. "No," he tells her, "they are all sold out." I think she eye spies my stash. I feel a stink eye burning from my left as I instinctively clutch a little bit tighter on my purchase. I leave the store looking back over my shoulder. Phew. She is not following me. I get to the bus stop and sigh with relief. Score!
Wake up today not feeling the panic yet. Hours go by and then, aha!, thought of the store in the outlands. Head there by bus. All I see is a gaping space where MMs were sold out. Oh, there you are, little cocos. I grab what is left and leave an empty box. (Number of packs intentionally not mentioned.) Head to the counter to pay for my loot. More at the counter. Only taking few more packs, feeling guilty. Oh, heck with it. These could be the very last ones I can find. Grab them all. (Still not mentioning number of packs.) From the corner of my left eye is a woman holding the empty box. She is asking the clerk if there are any more left. "No," he tells her, "they are all sold out." I think she eye spies my stash. I feel a stink eye burning from my left as I instinctively clutch a little bit tighter on my purchase. I leave the store looking back over my shoulder. Phew. She is not following me. I get to the bus stop and sigh with relief. Score!
Saturday, August 1, 2009
National Girlfriends Day
Today is National Girlfriends Day so send out a shout to all of your girlfriends out there and special shouts out to your gurrrrllllfriends. Go girls...you rock!
Friday, July 31, 2009
Aloha Festival
The Aloha Festival will be in town this weekend at the Presidio Parade Grounds. My sister and I have been attending the last few years. Pretty fun. Hawaiian vendors, music, entertainment. Hula is nice but I usually like it when the sun is setting into the evening. I usually like the Tahitian dancers.
I usually buy a bottle of Maui Babe each year. Maui Babe is a tanning lotion made from Hawaiian coffee beans (no sunscreen so you need one of their real suntan lotions). Smells really good. I was sitting on Waikiki Beach one year and the tourists next to me commented on how nice it smelled and not at all like suntan lotion.
It is going to be a foggy weekend so it will be a bit strange eating Hawaiian tasties while wearing my winter jacket. (You know I like to eat, right?) But who cares...if I can just be taken away for a little bit and feel that Hawaiian spirit.
http://www.pica-org.org/AlohaFest/index.html
Aloha!!
I usually buy a bottle of Maui Babe each year. Maui Babe is a tanning lotion made from Hawaiian coffee beans (no sunscreen so you need one of their real suntan lotions). Smells really good. I was sitting on Waikiki Beach one year and the tourists next to me commented on how nice it smelled and not at all like suntan lotion.
It is going to be a foggy weekend so it will be a bit strange eating Hawaiian tasties while wearing my winter jacket. (You know I like to eat, right?) But who cares...if I can just be taken away for a little bit and feel that Hawaiian spirit.
If you decide to hang out there this weekend...
http://www.pica-org.org/AlohaFest/index.html
Aloha!!
Thursday, July 30, 2009
Oh, what the heck...
Late Thursday afternoon. I have to eat an early dinner. Kick(ass)boxing tonight. But I have to eat enough but not too much. This class is totally cardio and you are moving each and every minute. You can make it as hard or harder as you like. I like to make it harder. Push myself. Eat too much and I will get that I-might-just-puke-right-here feeling in class. Not eat enough and my blood sugar will sink faster than you can say "oh, crap." Slapped myself in front of the telly while I am eating. Going okay so far. Then I see it. Sitting to my right is a half bag of cashews (large pound bag, so about half pound left). I eye spy it. I consider it. It is talking to me. Nooooo, better not. It bloats me up. If I down some now, I may have that oh-oh oh-no ahem feeling and will have to work at holding it. (I think you can imagine what I mean here.) I think about what I would say if one got by me -- "oh, sorry, my sneakers got stuck on the floor and made that screechy sound." Or do what most people do -- look away and, hopefully, not look guilty. Yeah, better not. Last ten minutes of class is a killer ab session. That will let it rip for sure.
Oh, rats. I have to take the trash out tonight for pick-up tomorrow. Have to double time it if I want to catch the bus on time. Trash, recycle, compost...all in different bags and boxes ready to take downstairs. Can barely see the stairs with everything juggled in my arms. Oh no...everything is all in the wrong bins. The upstairs once-every-other-week housekeeper just tossed trash into the nearest bin. I have to rearrange everything (recycle into recycle, compost into compost, trash into trash) and it starts to look like a game show. Losing time. Okay, done. Now I have to drag all five bins outside (our bins and theirs). Run back upstairs. Wash up. Check the time. Rats. Bus schedule karma is not working with me today. Too much time until the next bus and I will not make it on time.
Sigh...what the heck. I succumb. So, I am sitting here noshing on this bag of cashews without any bit of guilt. I am home alone tonight and no need to make any excuses.
Oh, rats. I have to take the trash out tonight for pick-up tomorrow. Have to double time it if I want to catch the bus on time. Trash, recycle, compost...all in different bags and boxes ready to take downstairs. Can barely see the stairs with everything juggled in my arms. Oh no...everything is all in the wrong bins. The upstairs once-every-other-week housekeeper just tossed trash into the nearest bin. I have to rearrange everything (recycle into recycle, compost into compost, trash into trash) and it starts to look like a game show. Losing time. Okay, done. Now I have to drag all five bins outside (our bins and theirs). Run back upstairs. Wash up. Check the time. Rats. Bus schedule karma is not working with me today. Too much time until the next bus and I will not make it on time.
Sigh...what the heck. I succumb. So, I am sitting here noshing on this bag of cashews without any bit of guilt. I am home alone tonight and no need to make any excuses.
Wednesday, July 29, 2009
Eerie Connection
Nothing witty today. Just something weird, eerie and creepy. Sort of.
Strange. Creepy. On the local news this morning were two different news stories. No connection except to me.
One was of a domestic dispute. Flashing on the telly was the building where my best guy friend lives. My heart stops. Oh, good. Something with his neighbor, not him or his partner. A flood of relief.
Second was a story about some pyro setting cars on fire in the city. Oh, geez. This shot is of the condo which I almost bought a few years ago. The car was set on fire in front of this building. Weirrrrdddd.
I first met my best guy friend many years ago at work. I was the HR Administrative Manager at that time. He was transferring in and I was onboarding him into the department. We had an instant connection. More ways than one would think. This would continue in our lives...and today is another one.
Strange. Creepy. On the local news this morning were two different news stories. No connection except to me.
One was of a domestic dispute. Flashing on the telly was the building where my best guy friend lives. My heart stops. Oh, good. Something with his neighbor, not him or his partner. A flood of relief.
Second was a story about some pyro setting cars on fire in the city. Oh, geez. This shot is of the condo which I almost bought a few years ago. The car was set on fire in front of this building. Weirrrrdddd.
I first met my best guy friend many years ago at work. I was the HR Administrative Manager at that time. He was transferring in and I was onboarding him into the department. We had an instant connection. More ways than one would think. This would continue in our lives...and today is another one.
Tuesday, July 28, 2009
Coco-nutters
Hey, there...attention all coco-nutters...
Just found...coconut M&Ms. I was at the Walgreen's counter the other day paying for my purchases and, gasp, what is this? Well, well, well. Coconut M&Ms. When did this limited edition flavor come out? Ohhhhhh...these may be tasty. Except for an unnatural addiction to gummy cola bottles, I am not a candy fiend. I buy a bag out of skepticism. A lot of so-called coconut flavored anything hardly tastes like coconut. I open the bag and try one...two...three. Not bad!
I have been a coconut fan since a little girl. My dad used to buy us these coconut jellies from Chinatown (a Hong Kong product) and I could not get enough of them. That started my taste for coconut. (Okay, yeah, I did comment about the effects of coconut a few days ago.)
I have a few minutes before class so I run into Walgreen's. Bombing out. Long line and only two packs of these coconutties. Swoosh. Run out and head to Walgreen's across the street. (Walgreen's is almost like ABC stores and Starbucks -- one on every/every other corner.) Score! A box of them. Three packs for two buckaroos. I grab three packs. Decide on another three. Yeah, why not? Grab another three. Nine packs of M&Ms. Must be survival instinct kicking in. Never know when the next time rolls around when I can get my hands on these MM'ers.
Cheerful as all get out, I take a pack out waiting for class to begin. Classmate next to me says, "Snack?" Yeah, right, gurlfriend. This and eight others. Yikes, class is starting so I throw it back into my bag. These will just have to wait...
Just found...coconut M&Ms. I was at the Walgreen's counter the other day paying for my purchases and, gasp, what is this? Well, well, well. Coconut M&Ms. When did this limited edition flavor come out? Ohhhhhh...these may be tasty. Except for an unnatural addiction to gummy cola bottles, I am not a candy fiend. I buy a bag out of skepticism. A lot of so-called coconut flavored anything hardly tastes like coconut. I open the bag and try one...two...three. Not bad!
I have been a coconut fan since a little girl. My dad used to buy us these coconut jellies from Chinatown (a Hong Kong product) and I could not get enough of them. That started my taste for coconut. (Okay, yeah, I did comment about the effects of coconut a few days ago.)
I have a few minutes before class so I run into Walgreen's. Bombing out. Long line and only two packs of these coconutties. Swoosh. Run out and head to Walgreen's across the street. (Walgreen's is almost like ABC stores and Starbucks -- one on every/every other corner.) Score! A box of them. Three packs for two buckaroos. I grab three packs. Decide on another three. Yeah, why not? Grab another three. Nine packs of M&Ms. Must be survival instinct kicking in. Never know when the next time rolls around when I can get my hands on these MM'ers.
Cheerful as all get out, I take a pack out waiting for class to begin. Classmate next to me says, "Snack?" Yeah, right, gurlfriend. This and eight others. Yikes, class is starting so I throw it back into my bag. These will just have to wait...
Monday, July 27, 2009
Dim Sum Nazi
The latest thing my sister and I do when she is at home on Sundays is head out to the local dim sum joint. Connected to the restaurant is the Chinese take out deli. At least, that is what I call it. We usually order from the take out side and sit in the back tables and chow down. No lie. The back of the deli is is divey. Just a few dive tables to scarf down and split. A hit and run kind of a deal. The place can be loud since the workers sometimes yell out orders to the cook. The Dim Sum Nazi. The first time we caught this exchange, it was almost hysterical. We are sitting there savoring our tasty bites. The owner yells out the need for more shrimp dumplings. The Dim Sum Nazi comes out and lets go of a just-as-loud diatribe. My sister and I stop in mid-bite and look at each other wide-eyed. Whatttttt? It sounds like they are really going at each other. Then at the same moment we realize just how funny it is and we start cracking up. We wonder if the Dim Sum Nazi is married to the owner. It is just that kind of verbal volley which makes us wonder. We go back to our tasty bites and continue chowing down. Taaaasty...
Friday, July 24, 2009
Mix it up!
Today's blog has a double meaning. What do I mean by mixing it up? The people who know me see me as the hard working no nonsense suited up corporate gal. What would mix that up? Mixology. Bartending as we all well know it. Huhhhh, you ask? Whatttt???? Yeah, you heard me. Bartending. Get this...I am a fledgling mixologist. A newbie bartender. What brought this on? Well, to those who do not know much about my family...my father was a bartender. He worked many other jobs but was a bartender most of his later years. He was an inspiration to me. He always worked so hard to raise the family on a bartender's salary (okay, admittedly, I am still trying to figure out what a bartender's salary equates to...I figure not much). I always had a fascination about bartending because of my father.
Funny thing is that when I am out, I now watch the bartenders from a different angle. I watch their technique on how they make their drinks, how much liquor they put in the drink, etc.
(I have yet to land my first gig --gotta get that resume written).
Who woulda figured? Corporate gal who could quote legal statutes and human resource policy but can also make twelve drinks in seven minutes. Let's see what's shakin' for me next...
(Pun intended.)
Funny thing is that when I am out, I now watch the bartenders from a different angle. I watch their technique on how they make their drinks, how much liquor they put in the drink, etc.
(I have yet to land my first gig --gotta get that resume written).
Who woulda figured? Corporate gal who could quote legal statutes and human resource policy but can also make twelve drinks in seven minutes. Let's see what's shakin' for me next...
(Pun intended.)
Thursday, July 23, 2009
Oh, no...not again!
Ccccccckkkkkkk. I wake up this morning...with what now? A craving for soy sauce chicken! (Did I tell you I like to eat?) What gives? I have no idea where that came from left field. The last time I had that chicken was...I cannot remember. Hoo boy. Nothing I saw on telly last night to make me crave it. No weird dreams that I can remember. But I wake up with a vivid taste of...soy sauce chicken. Go figure! I even smack my lips and roll the taste around my mouth in my 'tween state of sleep/wake. If it were some other food, I can live with it. But soy sauce chicken? Dunt get me wrong. I like it. It just does not make sense. Not quite a comfort food like Chef-Boy-R-Dee Ravioli. (Yes, yes, yes...no judgments, please.) So, I am debating with myself. Again. Should I go find some? Should I try to make it? (Okay, for those who do not know me that well, I am not a cook. Just a microwavist. Definitely not a cook.) Oh, gosh. First shrimp chips, now soy sauce chicken. What next I wonder? Shrimp chips, I understand. Those are physically here in the house where I can eye spy them. Soy sauce chicken? Not a morsel. Not a thought. Shaking my head in wonderment. Maybe this was my mind kicking back at myself for writing yesterday about something other than...food. Seems like my wackiest moments are about food and everything else is...bor-innggg (yawn). (Did I tell you I like to eat?)
Wednesday, July 22, 2009
Working Out
Finally went to the gym today. It has been almost three weeks (!!) since my last visit. This has been the longest lapse in the last two and a half years (when I decided to pay for a gym membership). I hate not exercising for so long since I am a former exercise addict. I started working out at the company gym years and years ago and usually worked out every business day. Sometimes twice a day. I was a lot more buff way back then. But then the company closed the on-site gyms because of the corporate takeover.
Took it slow and only worked out for forty minutes cardio today. Usually work out for an hour. I need to add more strength training to my regimen. Not like I really have a regimen right now. ;-D I am just working out when I feel like it. Guess I need to get that good ole motivation back to get me moving. My motivation right now is the high gym fees. Guess I am getting lazy in my age.
I have been seriously thinking about becoming a personal trainer. As a matter of fact, I am taking the Marketing certificate in place of a Personal Training certificate. It came down to money. And priority. I am at a life crossroads at the moment and have an opportunity to pursue what I would like to do vs. what I should do. Only kicker is that what I like to do does not really pay to keep the roof over my head. So, I am working on getting some marketing behind me. The personal training can come a bit later as a part-time gig. It will still take some time getting certified as a personal trainer.
I mentioned that I am at a life crossroads. Are any of you fellow Transitioners/Free Agents going through a similar situation?
Took it slow and only worked out for forty minutes cardio today. Usually work out for an hour. I need to add more strength training to my regimen. Not like I really have a regimen right now. ;-D I am just working out when I feel like it. Guess I need to get that good ole motivation back to get me moving. My motivation right now is the high gym fees. Guess I am getting lazy in my age.
I have been seriously thinking about becoming a personal trainer. As a matter of fact, I am taking the Marketing certificate in place of a Personal Training certificate. It came down to money. And priority. I am at a life crossroads at the moment and have an opportunity to pursue what I would like to do vs. what I should do. Only kicker is that what I like to do does not really pay to keep the roof over my head. So, I am working on getting some marketing behind me. The personal training can come a bit later as a part-time gig. It will still take some time getting certified as a personal trainer.
I mentioned that I am at a life crossroads. Are any of you fellow Transitioners/Free Agents going through a similar situation?
Tuesday, July 21, 2009
What the diff?
I am sitting here trying to get rid of this jones right now. I have in my possession two different types of Dandy's Shrimp Chips. Okay, yes, this is weird but I am wondering what the difference is between the two. After about how many years (maybe 15+ with a tiny lapse about 2 years ago) of not having a bag of these not-so-good-for-you-snack'ems. For those of you who have no idea of what these are -- these are fried fluffy puffy shrimp flavored chips. An Asian thing. They start off as hard oblong slices then are thrown into a pot of boiling oil to be fried into a chip. I ate so many of these when I was a kid and was enchanted with them by throwing a whole chip into my mouth and letting it melt onto my tongue. For some weird unknown urge, this started a coupla weeks ago when I was at the new Walgreen's (formerly Rite Aid) checking out the store. Lo and behold, in the back of the store sitting in the back of the store on the bottom shelf was -- bags and bags of shrimp chips. Oh, temptation has cometh. I give in. I wonder if they are the same as when I was a kid. Do I buy a bag? Nope. I buy four. (Did I tell you I like to eat?) I am normally a healthy eater but my senses has temporarily left me. I get home and open a bag. One chip, two...three. Dang. There are only about five left in the bag. I was too caught up letting these melt in my mouth. Are these how I remember them? I guess so...just not as shrimpy. But now I have two different types of bags. One from Walgreen's and one from an Asian market. The one from the Asian market is the one I grew up with. The bag is how I remembered it, not the one from Walgreen's which I thought was the new, updated look. But, no, there are two versions out there. What the diff? Nutritional value is the same. Weight is the same. All looks to compare except...the bag. According to my sister who has already taken up this challenge has said that the bag in the "original" package vs. the Walgreen's version are two different textures. I am hankering to check this out myself. But I know this is not a good time to scarf down a bag (sorry, this is like an Asian Lay's to me; just one will not do). My feet will bloat up like Barney Rubble when I wake up and will end up cursing myself "why do I always do this to myself?" I am drinking water to fend off my urge. My eyes are still a bit rabid. A little bit wild. More water. Ahhhh, okay. I think I feel the urge slowly subsiding. (burp) Feels like enough water for now. I think this jones really may be able to slide away...this time. Geeeeez, how did I get on this tangent??
Monday, July 20, 2009
I'm baaaaack...
Back from my short trip to Seattle. Boy, was I tired. I could blame this on the trip but I really think it was me watching Gene Simmons' Family Jewels. I am really not one to watch reality (or should we say semi-reality) television but something about the show caught my attention. And something about those Housewives. I just started to watch these shows recently. Not sure when or how I stumbled onto them but I seem to follow it. It is what I call mindless tv. Something to watch and not have to think about. No brain strain. I also seem to have this knack for falling asleep on the last ten minutes of a show. Go figure, eh? Is it just me?
Before I forget (seems to happen too much for my taste), I changed my post name to a Hawaiian name to get in the groove with our team assignment (yay, go Eco-friendly Aloha Tours!). I hope no one got messed up. Okay, okay. Truth is that I just was not too creative in creating my blog name/website and caved in to pressure so I just used my plain ole name. Now that I had a minute (or two) to put a little bit of thought into it, I decided to switch. Okay, maybe I could be little fickle too. Anyway, I just thought I would have a bit of fun with it. My new site is http://keike88.blogspot.com/.
Before I forget (seems to happen too much for my taste), I changed my post name to a Hawaiian name to get in the groove with our team assignment (yay, go Eco-friendly Aloha Tours!). I hope no one got messed up. Okay, okay. Truth is that I just was not too creative in creating my blog name/website and caved in to pressure so I just used my plain ole name. Now that I had a minute (or two) to put a little bit of thought into it, I decided to switch. Okay, maybe I could be little fickle too. Anyway, I just thought I would have a bit of fun with it. My new site is http://keike88.blogspot.com/.
Sunday, July 19, 2009
Winding down
Our short vacation is winding down and this is our last half day in Seattle. Sigh. I wish we could have spent more time here but no regrets. It was good to get away for a little bit. Something about Seattle draws me and is good for my qi (chi). I can actually sleep while I am here. I am a member of the sleep disturbed and a good night's sleep is rare. My sister has commented on my sleepiness and has commented this and last time about it. She said it is freaky. With a capital F.
Nothing on the schedule today. We end up going back to Pike Market for one last look see. My sister and her friend grabbed a salad to go (it was early and not much was open) and I threw my sushi in my bag. We sat at the end of the market and enjoyed the view. We walk around and end up getting piroshkies from Piroshky, Piroshky. Beef for my friend, smoked salmon for me. Did I tell you I like to eat? Anthony Bourdain went to this place in one of his episodes. It now has long lines thanks to his ten minute segment. Not quite like the traditional piroshky we are used to. These are baked and flaky and not fried (that is a good thing for me). Not too bad. My smoked salmon was the favorite.
We head out to the waterfront one last time and walk around looking for oysters. I wanted to hit up oyster happy hour once we got here but, for some reason, just was not able to score. We head up to Ivar's and we find out they are having their Sunday brunch buffet. Darn! We should have headed out there and hit them up instead. (Did I tell you I like to eat?) Well, I guess it will have to be next time. We end up at Elliott's for oysters. BTW, this was the oyster happy hour I wanted to hit up. They have what they call a "progressive" happy hour. Oysters are 50 cents starting at 3:00pm and goes up 25 cents every half hour. Did I like want to go there at 3:00pm sharp and order about two dozen? Oh, yeahhhh. But I guess this will have to be another next time event. You probably raised an eyebrow at my mention of two dozen. Not a problem for me. Done that before. Can probably take down three dozen and shamefully admit that I can probably go another round. Did I tell you I like to eat?
We just about timed things right. It is time to go back to the hotel and check out. We walk past the market one last time on the way back. The original Starbucks is located here. I finally took a pic of it this time.
Nothing on the schedule today. We end up going back to Pike Market for one last look see. My sister and her friend grabbed a salad to go (it was early and not much was open) and I threw my sushi in my bag. We sat at the end of the market and enjoyed the view. We walk around and end up getting piroshkies from Piroshky, Piroshky. Beef for my friend, smoked salmon for me. Did I tell you I like to eat? Anthony Bourdain went to this place in one of his episodes. It now has long lines thanks to his ten minute segment. Not quite like the traditional piroshky we are used to. These are baked and flaky and not fried (that is a good thing for me). Not too bad. My smoked salmon was the favorite.
We head out to the waterfront one last time and walk around looking for oysters. I wanted to hit up oyster happy hour once we got here but, for some reason, just was not able to score. We head up to Ivar's and we find out they are having their Sunday brunch buffet. Darn! We should have headed out there and hit them up instead. (Did I tell you I like to eat?) Well, I guess it will have to be next time. We end up at Elliott's for oysters. BTW, this was the oyster happy hour I wanted to hit up. They have what they call a "progressive" happy hour. Oysters are 50 cents starting at 3:00pm and goes up 25 cents every half hour. Did I like want to go there at 3:00pm sharp and order about two dozen? Oh, yeahhhh. But I guess this will have to be another next time event. You probably raised an eyebrow at my mention of two dozen. Not a problem for me. Done that before. Can probably take down three dozen and shamefully admit that I can probably go another round. Did I tell you I like to eat?
We just about timed things right. It is time to go back to the hotel and check out. We walk past the market one last time on the way back. The original Starbucks is located here. I finally took a pic of it this time.

I would love to hear of cool places to go next year in Seattle if you have suggestions.
Okay, bloggers and bloggettes, see you back in San Francisco!
Saturday, July 18, 2009
Traipsing around town

Day 3 (Saturday). We are heading to the International District today (Chinatown to me). We walked around and checked out the spots (not much) and had dim sum at one of the local joints. We decide to go light and just had about six/seven dishes.
My cover story to head out this way is that the Wing Luke Museum is free today. The real strategy is to go to Uwajimaya (Seattle's version of Ranch 99). I am up here to grab some of their reusable grocery bags while the others are wandering around the market amusing themselves with the food court or the deli. Oh, okayyyy. I admit it. I hung out at their fresh food to go counter and went through the good vs. bad dilemma. Sushi with brown or regular rice? Brown in my left, regular in my right. Left, right, left, right. Guilt wins today. I decide on brown. My sister sneaks up on me and reminds me not to buy so much fresh food. "Put down those other six packs of sushi," she says with one stink eye. Oh, yeah, right. Did I tell you I like to eat?
We decide to take the new light rail that is grand opening today. There is a lot of hoopla going on at the tunnel entrance. Rides are free all this weekend. I figure why not. The ride was actually interesting. We rode all the way to the end of the line at Tukwila. Next year, I will have to figure out if there is anything interesting to do near any of these new stops. A new stop will be added to the airport by end of year so this is a good, cheap way to get into downtown Seattle, folks.
We decide to eat during happy hour tonight. Oh, which BTW, a lot of the restaurants offer double happy hours. Usually one around 3:00ish and the second around 9:00pm in the eve. If you adjust your eating hours, one can actually eat fairly cheap around downtown. We decide on heading out to O'Asian. Not quite in downtown but we passed it on the way to Chinatown. This is one of their trendy restaurants (translation: great decor, overpriced menu). We decide to go with six of their appetizers (happy hour offers apps at $5/plate) and my sister's friend decides to go with nine at the last minute (did I tell you I like to eat?). I think the bartender thought we were nuts. Maybe just a little but not too much hungry (did I tell you I like to eat?). Well, I have to say that the happy hour was not too bad. Tasty. This is a good way to check out the restaurant without your wallet screaming back at you.
So whaddabout you? Any knoshing places you can recommend for my next pillage and plunder flight to Seattle next year?
My cover story to head out this way is that the Wing Luke Museum is free today. The real strategy is to go to Uwajimaya (Seattle's version of Ranch 99). I am up here to grab some of their reusable grocery bags while the others are wandering around the market amusing themselves with the food court or the deli. Oh, okayyyy. I admit it. I hung out at their fresh food to go counter and went through the good vs. bad dilemma. Sushi with brown or regular rice? Brown in my left, regular in my right. Left, right, left, right. Guilt wins today. I decide on brown. My sister sneaks up on me and reminds me not to buy so much fresh food. "Put down those other six packs of sushi," she says with one stink eye. Oh, yeah, right. Did I tell you I like to eat?
We decide to take the new light rail that is grand opening today. There is a lot of hoopla going on at the tunnel entrance. Rides are free all this weekend. I figure why not. The ride was actually interesting. We rode all the way to the end of the line at Tukwila. Next year, I will have to figure out if there is anything interesting to do near any of these new stops. A new stop will be added to the airport by end of year so this is a good, cheap way to get into downtown Seattle, folks.
We decide to eat during happy hour tonight. Oh, which BTW, a lot of the restaurants offer double happy hours. Usually one around 3:00ish and the second around 9:00pm in the eve. If you adjust your eating hours, one can actually eat fairly cheap around downtown. We decide on heading out to O'Asian. Not quite in downtown but we passed it on the way to Chinatown. This is one of their trendy restaurants (translation: great decor, overpriced menu). We decide to go with six of their appetizers (happy hour offers apps at $5/plate) and my sister's friend decides to go with nine at the last minute (did I tell you I like to eat?). I think the bartender thought we were nuts. Maybe just a little but not too much hungry (did I tell you I like to eat?). Well, I have to say that the happy hour was not too bad. Tasty. This is a good way to check out the restaurant without your wallet screaming back at you.
So whaddabout you? Any knoshing places you can recommend for my next pillage and plunder flight to Seattle next year?
Friday, July 17, 2009
Bite of Seattle

Here we are...the Bite of Seattle. It is similar to the now defunct A la Carte, A la Park which used to be held in Golden Gate Park over the Labor Day weekend. This is an annual event which the locals consider a gorge fest (yes, that is why I am here!!)...yummy! About sixty of the local restaurants join in the event and set up booths and cook up their specialties. Sort of like a foodie festival. I just looooove to eat and am not one to pass up a buffet or an all-you-can-eat. People that have seen me eat are sometimes amazed. What can I say?
Calling myself a former foodie, I used to eat out all the time. But this was all until the realities of mortgage caught up with me. Oddly, I am not that hungry (we had breakfast at Lowell's) and it is hot out today. Two things going against me. I think we are all feeling that way. All we had were gator skewers (yep, tastes like chicken), ribs and three different kinds of German sausages (ohhh so tasty good but ahhhh so bad for you). My sister and her friend split a young coconut and an icy Thai iced tea. I am silently wondering if should I mention the after effects of coconut. Uhhhhh, maybe not. My sister will totally think herself into the after effects and her friend will probably feel its effects later. I remind myself that we are all sharing a hotel room so that decides it for me. Nope. Zipping up my mouth. ;-D (hee, hee, wink, wink)
More pillaging and plundering for tomorrow...
Thursday, July 16, 2009
Where am I?
Yayyyyy!! I just landed in Seattle. I rushed home last night to catch some sleep since I had an early flight (7:00 a.m. !!). But, geez, I just had to watch Top Chef Masters. But, oh no, not just once but I ended up watching it twice. Good golly, what was that all about? I guess anxiousness about not being able to get any sleep and wake up in the wee hours of the morning to catch a plane. Sheesh.

So, whaddabout you?? What is your fave Pike Market experience?
It is sunny in Seattle today and is actually expected to get up into the 80s for the time we are up here. (Up here with my sister and her male friend.) So glad to get away from all that dreary SF fog. I live out towards the beach so I get more fog than most people are used to. Summer out this way means the fog is thicker and lower to the ground.
We are up here to go to the Bite of Seattle (more about that tomorrow) which runs through the weekend. My sister and I went last year and decided we would do a repeat. What the heck were we doing up here last year? Well, she ended up helping out (=working) her Seattle office since two of their staff just upped and quit. She is in the insurance industry so you can probably see why.
Well, we did the tourist thing and went straight off to Pike's Market. A place familar to me since I practically went there every day of my week's stay last year. Such a sensory experience -- sights, smells. And the view...amazing.

So, whaddabout you?? What is your fave Pike Market experience?
Wednesday, July 15, 2009
My First Blog Post
Well, here I am sitting in class creating my first blog. Cool. So, why did it take me so long to decide to jump into the blog bog? Wellll...it is kinda like stealthly eyeing the dessert table at a buffet. You know you want to do it but you know that when you pick up your first piece of decadent no-I-really-shouldn't, you know you are IN and there is no turning back. This was a long time coming. I had been teetering on the edge for quite awhile. The rebel in me had resisted as it usually does. But I have taken that step off that cliff and...watch out...here I am! Well, actually, I have to credit this marketing class for the plunge. Sooooo, keep your eyes on me. I am breaking out and you are coming along for the ride. Stay tuned for my next post!
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)
