Saturday, July 18, 2009

Traipsing around town


Day 3 (Saturday). We are heading to the International District today (Chinatown to me). We walked around and checked out the spots (not much) and had dim sum at one of the local joints. We decide to go light and just had about six/seven dishes.

My cover story to head out this way is that the Wing Luke Museum is free today. The real strategy is to go to Uwajimaya (Seattle's version of Ranch 99). I am up here to grab some of their reusable grocery bags while the others are wandering around the market amusing themselves with the food court or the deli. Oh, okayyyy. I admit it. I hung out at their fresh food to go counter and went through the good vs. bad dilemma. Sushi with brown or regular rice? Brown in my left, regular in my right. Left, right, left, right. Guilt wins today. I decide on brown. My sister sneaks up on me and reminds me not to buy so much fresh food. "Put down those other six packs of sushi," she says with one stink eye. Oh, yeah, right. Did I tell you I like to eat?

We decide to take the new light rail that is grand opening today. There is a lot of hoopla going on at the tunnel entrance. Rides are free all this weekend. I figure why not. The ride was actually interesting. We rode all the way to the end of the line at Tukwila. Next year, I will have to figure out if there is anything interesting to do near any of these new stops. A new stop will be added to the airport by end of year so this is a good, cheap way to get into downtown Seattle, folks.

We decide to eat during happy hour tonight. Oh, which BTW, a lot of the restaurants offer double happy hours. Usually one around 3:00ish and the second around 9:00pm in the eve. If you adjust your eating hours, one can actually eat fairly cheap around downtown. We decide on heading out to O'Asian. Not quite in downtown but we passed it on the way to Chinatown. This is one of their trendy restaurants (translation: great decor, overpriced menu). We decide to go with six of their appetizers (happy hour offers apps at $5/plate) and my sister's friend decides to go with nine at the last minute (did I tell you I like to eat?). I think the bartender thought we were nuts. Maybe just a little but not too much hungry (did I tell you I like to eat?). Well, I have to say that the happy hour was not too bad. Tasty. This is a good way to check out the restaurant without your wallet screaming back at you.

So whaddabout you? Any knoshing places you can recommend for my next pillage and plunder flight to Seattle next year?

No comments:

Post a Comment

And whaddup with you?