Late Thursday afternoon. I have to eat an early dinner. Kick(ass)boxing tonight. But I have to eat enough but not too much. This class is totally cardio and you are moving each and every minute. You can make it as hard or harder as you like. I like to make it harder. Push myself. Eat too much and I will get that I-might-just-puke-right-here feeling in class. Not eat enough and my blood sugar will sink faster than you can say "oh, crap." Slapped myself in front of the telly while I am eating. Going okay so far. Then I see it. Sitting to my right is a half bag of cashews (large pound bag, so about half pound left). I eye spy it. I consider it. It is talking to me. Nooooo, better not. It bloats me up. If I down some now, I may have that oh-oh oh-no ahem feeling and will have to work at holding it. (I think you can imagine what I mean here.) I think about what I would say if one got by me -- "oh, sorry, my sneakers got stuck on the floor and made that screechy sound." Or do what most people do -- look away and, hopefully, not look guilty. Yeah, better not. Last ten minutes of class is a killer ab session. That will let it rip for sure.
Oh, rats. I have to take the trash out tonight for pick-up tomorrow. Have to double time it if I want to catch the bus on time. Trash, recycle, compost...all in different bags and boxes ready to take downstairs. Can barely see the stairs with everything juggled in my arms. Oh no...everything is all in the wrong bins. The upstairs once-every-other-week housekeeper just tossed trash into the nearest bin. I have to rearrange everything (recycle into recycle, compost into compost, trash into trash) and it starts to look like a game show. Losing time. Okay, done. Now I have to drag all five bins outside (our bins and theirs). Run back upstairs. Wash up. Check the time. Rats. Bus schedule karma is not working with me today. Too much time until the next bus and I will not make it on time.
Sigh...what the heck. I succumb. So, I am sitting here noshing on this bag of cashews without any bit of guilt. I am home alone tonight and no need to make any excuses.
No comments:
Post a Comment
And whaddup with you?