Friday, July 31, 2009

Aloha Festival

The Aloha Festival will be in town this weekend at the Presidio Parade Grounds. My sister and I have been attending the last few years. Pretty fun. Hawaiian vendors, music, entertainment. Hula is nice but I usually like it when the sun is setting into the evening. I usually like the Tahitian dancers.




I usually buy a bottle of Maui Babe each year. Maui Babe is a tanning lotion made from Hawaiian coffee beans (no sunscreen so you need one of their real suntan lotions). Smells really good. I was sitting on Waikiki Beach one year and the tourists next to me commented on how nice it smelled and not at all like suntan lotion.

It is going to be a foggy weekend so it will be a bit strange eating Hawaiian tasties while wearing my winter jacket. (You know I like to eat, right?) But who cares...if I can just be taken away for a little bit and feel that Hawaiian spirit.

If you decide to hang out there this weekend...

http://www.pica-org.org/AlohaFest/index.html

Aloha!!

Thursday, July 30, 2009

Oh, what the heck...

Late Thursday afternoon. I have to eat an early dinner. Kick(ass)boxing tonight. But I have to eat enough but not too much. This class is totally cardio and you are moving each and every minute. You can make it as hard or harder as you like. I like to make it harder. Push myself. Eat too much and I will get that I-might-just-puke-right-here feeling in class. Not eat enough and my blood sugar will sink faster than you can say "oh, crap." Slapped myself in front of the telly while I am eating. Going okay so far. Then I see it. Sitting to my right is a half bag of cashews (large pound bag, so about half pound left). I eye spy it. I consider it. It is talking to me. Nooooo, better not. It bloats me up. If I down some now, I may have that oh-oh oh-no ahem feeling and will have to work at holding it. (I think you can imagine what I mean here.) I think about what I would say if one got by me -- "oh, sorry, my sneakers got stuck on the floor and made that screechy sound." Or do what most people do -- look away and, hopefully, not look guilty. Yeah, better not. Last ten minutes of class is a killer ab session. That will let it rip for sure.

Oh, rats. I have to take the trash out tonight for pick-up tomorrow. Have to double time it if I want to catch the bus on time. Trash, recycle, compost...all in different bags and boxes ready to take downstairs. Can barely see the stairs with everything juggled in my arms. Oh no...everything is all in the wrong bins. The upstairs once-every-other-week housekeeper just tossed trash into the nearest bin. I have to rearrange everything (recycle into recycle, compost into compost, trash into trash) and it starts to look like a game show. Losing time. Okay, done. Now I have to drag all five bins outside (our bins and theirs). Run back upstairs. Wash up. Check the time. Rats. Bus schedule karma is not working with me today. Too much time until the next bus and I will not make it on time.

Sigh...what the heck. I succumb. So, I am sitting here noshing on this bag of cashews without any bit of guilt. I am home alone tonight and no need to make any excuses.

Wednesday, July 29, 2009

Eerie Connection

Nothing witty today. Just something weird, eerie and creepy. Sort of.

Strange. Creepy. On the local news this morning were two different news stories. No connection except to me.

One was of a domestic dispute. Flashing on the telly was the building where my best guy friend lives. My heart stops. Oh, good. Something with his neighbor, not him or his partner. A flood of relief.

Second was a story about some pyro setting cars on fire in the city. Oh, geez. This shot is of the condo which I almost bought a few years ago. The car was set on fire in front of this building. Weirrrrdddd.

I first met my best guy friend many years ago at work. I was the HR Administrative Manager at that time. He was transferring in and I was onboarding him into the department. We had an instant connection. More ways than one would think. This would continue in our lives...and today is another one.

Tuesday, July 28, 2009

Coco-nutters

Hey, there...attention all coco-nutters...

Just found...coconut M&Ms. I was at the Walgreen's counter the other day paying for my purchases and, gasp, what is this? Well, well, well. Coconut M&Ms. When did this limited edition flavor come out? Ohhhhhh...these may be tasty. Except for an unnatural addiction to gummy cola bottles, I am not a candy fiend. I buy a bag out of skepticism. A lot of so-called coconut flavored anything hardly tastes like coconut. I open the bag and try one...two...three. Not bad!

I have been a coconut fan since a little girl. My dad used to buy us these coconut jellies from Chinatown (a Hong Kong product) and I could not get enough of them. That started my taste for coconut. (Okay, yeah, I did comment about the effects of coconut a few days ago.)

I have a few minutes before class so I run into Walgreen's. Bombing out. Long line and only two packs of these coconutties. Swoosh. Run out and head to Walgreen's across the street. (Walgreen's is almost like ABC stores and Starbucks -- one on every/every other corner.) Score! A box of them. Three packs for two buckaroos. I grab three packs. Decide on another three. Yeah, why not? Grab another three. Nine packs of M&Ms. Must be survival instinct kicking in. Never know when the next time rolls around when I can get my hands on these MM'ers.

Cheerful as all get out, I take a pack out waiting for class to begin. Classmate next to me says, "Snack?" Yeah, right, gurlfriend. This and eight others. Yikes, class is starting so I throw it back into my bag. These will just have to wait...

Monday, July 27, 2009

Dim Sum Nazi

The latest thing my sister and I do when she is at home on Sundays is head out to the local dim sum joint. Connected to the restaurant is the Chinese take out deli. At least, that is what I call it. We usually order from the take out side and sit in the back tables and chow down. No lie. The back of the deli is is divey. Just a few dive tables to scarf down and split. A hit and run kind of a deal. The place can be loud since the workers sometimes yell out orders to the cook. The Dim Sum Nazi. The first time we caught this exchange, it was almost hysterical. We are sitting there savoring our tasty bites. The owner yells out the need for more shrimp dumplings. The Dim Sum Nazi comes out and lets go of a just-as-loud diatribe. My sister and I stop in mid-bite and look at each other wide-eyed. Whatttttt? It sounds like they are really going at each other. Then at the same moment we realize just how funny it is and we start cracking up. We wonder if the Dim Sum Nazi is married to the owner. It is just that kind of verbal volley which makes us wonder. We go back to our tasty bites and continue chowing down. Taaaasty...

Friday, July 24, 2009

Mix it up!

Today's blog has a double meaning. What do I mean by mixing it up? The people who know me see me as the hard working no nonsense suited up corporate gal. What would mix that up? Mixology. Bartending as we all well know it. Huhhhh, you ask? Whatttt???? Yeah, you heard me. Bartending. Get this...I am a fledgling mixologist. A newbie bartender. What brought this on? Well, to those who do not know much about my family...my father was a bartender. He worked many other jobs but was a bartender most of his later years. He was an inspiration to me. He always worked so hard to raise the family on a bartender's salary (okay, admittedly, I am still trying to figure out what a bartender's salary equates to...I figure not much). I always had a fascination about bartending because of my father.

Funny thing is that when I am out, I now watch the bartenders from a different angle. I watch their technique on how they make their drinks, how much liquor they put in the drink, etc.

(I have yet to land my first gig --gotta get that resume written).

Who woulda figured? Corporate gal who could quote legal statutes and human resource policy but can also make twelve drinks in seven minutes. Let's see what's shakin' for me next...

(Pun intended.)

Thursday, July 23, 2009

Oh, no...not again!

Ccccccckkkkkkk. I wake up this morning...with what now? A craving for soy sauce chicken! (Did I tell you I like to eat?) What gives? I have no idea where that came from left field. The last time I had that chicken was...I cannot remember. Hoo boy. Nothing I saw on telly last night to make me crave it. No weird dreams that I can remember. But I wake up with a vivid taste of...soy sauce chicken. Go figure! I even smack my lips and roll the taste around my mouth in my 'tween state of sleep/wake. If it were some other food, I can live with it. But soy sauce chicken? Dunt get me wrong. I like it. It just does not make sense. Not quite a comfort food like Chef-Boy-R-Dee Ravioli. (Yes, yes, yes...no judgments, please.) So, I am debating with myself. Again. Should I go find some? Should I try to make it? (Okay, for those who do not know me that well, I am not a cook. Just a microwavist. Definitely not a cook.) Oh, gosh. First shrimp chips, now soy sauce chicken. What next I wonder? Shrimp chips, I understand. Those are physically here in the house where I can eye spy them. Soy sauce chicken? Not a morsel. Not a thought. Shaking my head in wonderment. Maybe this was my mind kicking back at myself for writing yesterday about something other than...food. Seems like my wackiest moments are about food and everything else is...bor-innggg (yawn). (Did I tell you I like to eat?)

Wednesday, July 22, 2009

Working Out

Finally went to the gym today. It has been almost three weeks (!!) since my last visit. This has been the longest lapse in the last two and a half years (when I decided to pay for a gym membership). I hate not exercising for so long since I am a former exercise addict. I started working out at the company gym years and years ago and usually worked out every business day. Sometimes twice a day. I was a lot more buff way back then. But then the company closed the on-site gyms because of the corporate takeover.

Took it slow and only worked out for forty minutes cardio today. Usually work out for an hour. I need to add more strength training to my regimen. Not like I really have a regimen right now. ;-D I am just working out when I feel like it. Guess I need to get that good ole motivation back to get me moving. My motivation right now is the high gym fees. Guess I am getting lazy in my age.

I have been seriously thinking about becoming a personal trainer. As a matter of fact, I am taking the Marketing certificate in place of a Personal Training certificate. It came down to money. And priority. I am at a life crossroads at the moment and have an opportunity to pursue what I would like to do vs. what I should do. Only kicker is that what I like to do does not really pay to keep the roof over my head. So, I am working on getting some marketing behind me. The personal training can come a bit later as a part-time gig. It will still take some time getting certified as a personal trainer.

I mentioned that I am at a life crossroads. Are any of you fellow Transitioners/Free Agents going through a similar situation?

Tuesday, July 21, 2009

What the diff?

I am sitting here trying to get rid of this jones right now. I have in my possession two different types of Dandy's Shrimp Chips. Okay, yes, this is weird but I am wondering what the difference is between the two. After about how many years (maybe 15+ with a tiny lapse about 2 years ago) of not having a bag of these not-so-good-for-you-snack'ems. For those of you who have no idea of what these are -- these are fried fluffy puffy shrimp flavored chips. An Asian thing. They start off as hard oblong slices then are thrown into a pot of boiling oil to be fried into a chip. I ate so many of these when I was a kid and was enchanted with them by throwing a whole chip into my mouth and letting it melt onto my tongue. For some weird unknown urge, this started a coupla weeks ago when I was at the new Walgreen's (formerly Rite Aid) checking out the store. Lo and behold, in the back of the store sitting in the back of the store on the bottom shelf was -- bags and bags of shrimp chips. Oh, temptation has cometh. I give in. I wonder if they are the same as when I was a kid. Do I buy a bag? Nope. I buy four. (Did I tell you I like to eat?) I am normally a healthy eater but my senses has temporarily left me. I get home and open a bag. One chip, two...three. Dang. There are only about five left in the bag. I was too caught up letting these melt in my mouth. Are these how I remember them? I guess so...just not as shrimpy. But now I have two different types of bags. One from Walgreen's and one from an Asian market. The one from the Asian market is the one I grew up with. The bag is how I remembered it, not the one from Walgreen's which I thought was the new, updated look. But, no, there are two versions out there. What the diff? Nutritional value is the same. Weight is the same. All looks to compare except...the bag. According to my sister who has already taken up this challenge has said that the bag in the "original" package vs. the Walgreen's version are two different textures. I am hankering to check this out myself. But I know this is not a good time to scarf down a bag (sorry, this is like an Asian Lay's to me; just one will not do). My feet will bloat up like Barney Rubble when I wake up and will end up cursing myself "why do I always do this to myself?" I am drinking water to fend off my urge. My eyes are still a bit rabid. A little bit wild. More water. Ahhhh, okay. I think I feel the urge slowly subsiding. (burp) Feels like enough water for now. I think this jones really may be able to slide away...this time. Geeeeez, how did I get on this tangent??

Monday, July 20, 2009

I'm baaaaack...

Back from my short trip to Seattle. Boy, was I tired. I could blame this on the trip but I really think it was me watching Gene Simmons' Family Jewels. I am really not one to watch reality (or should we say semi-reality) television but something about the show caught my attention. And something about those Housewives. I just started to watch these shows recently. Not sure when or how I stumbled onto them but I seem to follow it. It is what I call mindless tv. Something to watch and not have to think about. No brain strain. I also seem to have this knack for falling asleep on the last ten minutes of a show. Go figure, eh? Is it just me?

Before I forget (seems to happen too much for my taste), I changed my post name to a Hawaiian name to get in the groove with our team assignment (yay, go Eco-friendly Aloha Tours!). I hope no one got messed up. Okay, okay. Truth is that I just was not too creative in creating my blog name/website and caved in to pressure so I just used my plain ole name. Now that I had a minute (or two) to put a little bit of thought into it, I decided to switch. Okay, maybe I could be little fickle too. Anyway, I just thought I would have a bit of fun with it. My new site is http://keike88.blogspot.com/.

Sunday, July 19, 2009

Winding down

Our short vacation is winding down and this is our last half day in Seattle. Sigh. I wish we could have spent more time here but no regrets. It was good to get away for a little bit. Something about Seattle draws me and is good for my qi (chi). I can actually sleep while I am here. I am a member of the sleep disturbed and a good night's sleep is rare. My sister has commented on my sleepiness and has commented this and last time about it. She said it is freaky. With a capital F.

Nothing on the schedule today. We end up going back to Pike Market for one last look see. My sister and her friend grabbed a salad to go (it was early and not much was open) and I threw my sushi in my bag. We sat at the end of the market and enjoyed the view. We walk around and end up getting piroshkies from Piroshky, Piroshky. Beef for my friend, smoked salmon for me. Did I tell you I like to eat? Anthony Bourdain went to this place in one of his episodes. It now has long lines thanks to his ten minute segment. Not quite like the traditional piroshky we are used to. These are baked and flaky and not fried (that is a good thing for me). Not too bad. My smoked salmon was the favorite.

We head out to the waterfront one last time and walk around looking for oysters. I wanted to hit up oyster happy hour once we got here but, for some reason, just was not able to score. We head up to Ivar's and we find out they are having their Sunday brunch buffet. Darn! We should have headed out there and hit them up instead. (Did I tell you I like to eat?) Well, I guess it will have to be next time. We end up at Elliott's for oysters. BTW, this was the oyster happy hour I wanted to hit up. They have what they call a "progressive" happy hour. Oysters are 50 cents starting at 3:00pm and goes up 25 cents every half hour. Did I like want to go there at 3:00pm sharp and order about two dozen? Oh, yeahhhh. But I guess this will have to be another next time event. You probably raised an eyebrow at my mention of two dozen. Not a problem for me. Done that before. Can probably take down three dozen and shamefully admit that I can probably go another round. Did I tell you I like to eat?

We just about timed things right. It is time to go back to the hotel and check out. We walk past the market one last time on the way back. The original Starbucks is located here. I finally took a pic of it this time.

I would love to hear of cool places to go next year in Seattle if you have suggestions.

Okay, bloggers and bloggettes, see you back in San Francisco!



Saturday, July 18, 2009

Traipsing around town


Day 3 (Saturday). We are heading to the International District today (Chinatown to me). We walked around and checked out the spots (not much) and had dim sum at one of the local joints. We decide to go light and just had about six/seven dishes.

My cover story to head out this way is that the Wing Luke Museum is free today. The real strategy is to go to Uwajimaya (Seattle's version of Ranch 99). I am up here to grab some of their reusable grocery bags while the others are wandering around the market amusing themselves with the food court or the deli. Oh, okayyyy. I admit it. I hung out at their fresh food to go counter and went through the good vs. bad dilemma. Sushi with brown or regular rice? Brown in my left, regular in my right. Left, right, left, right. Guilt wins today. I decide on brown. My sister sneaks up on me and reminds me not to buy so much fresh food. "Put down those other six packs of sushi," she says with one stink eye. Oh, yeah, right. Did I tell you I like to eat?

We decide to take the new light rail that is grand opening today. There is a lot of hoopla going on at the tunnel entrance. Rides are free all this weekend. I figure why not. The ride was actually interesting. We rode all the way to the end of the line at Tukwila. Next year, I will have to figure out if there is anything interesting to do near any of these new stops. A new stop will be added to the airport by end of year so this is a good, cheap way to get into downtown Seattle, folks.

We decide to eat during happy hour tonight. Oh, which BTW, a lot of the restaurants offer double happy hours. Usually one around 3:00ish and the second around 9:00pm in the eve. If you adjust your eating hours, one can actually eat fairly cheap around downtown. We decide on heading out to O'Asian. Not quite in downtown but we passed it on the way to Chinatown. This is one of their trendy restaurants (translation: great decor, overpriced menu). We decide to go with six of their appetizers (happy hour offers apps at $5/plate) and my sister's friend decides to go with nine at the last minute (did I tell you I like to eat?). I think the bartender thought we were nuts. Maybe just a little but not too much hungry (did I tell you I like to eat?). Well, I have to say that the happy hour was not too bad. Tasty. This is a good way to check out the restaurant without your wallet screaming back at you.

So whaddabout you? Any knoshing places you can recommend for my next pillage and plunder flight to Seattle next year?

Friday, July 17, 2009

Bite of Seattle


Here we are...the Bite of Seattle. It is similar to the now defunct A la Carte, A la Park which used to be held in Golden Gate Park over the Labor Day weekend. This is an annual event which the locals consider a gorge fest (yes, that is why I am here!!)...yummy! About sixty of the local restaurants join in the event and set up booths and cook up their specialties. Sort of like a foodie festival. I just looooove to eat and am not one to pass up a buffet or an all-you-can-eat. People that have seen me eat are sometimes amazed. What can I say?

Calling myself a former foodie, I used to eat out all the time. But this was all until the realities of mortgage caught up with me. Oddly, I am not that hungry (we had breakfast at Lowell's) and it is hot out today. Two things going against me. I think we are all feeling that way. All we had were gator skewers (yep, tastes like chicken), ribs and three different kinds of German sausages (ohhh so tasty good but ahhhh so bad for you). My sister and her friend split a young coconut and an icy Thai iced tea. I am silently wondering if should I mention the after effects of coconut. Uhhhhh, maybe not. My sister will totally think herself into the after effects and her friend will probably feel its effects later. I remind myself that we are all sharing a hotel room so that decides it for me. Nope. Zipping up my mouth. ;-D (hee, hee, wink, wink)

More pillaging and plundering for tomorrow...

Thursday, July 16, 2009

Where am I?

Yayyyyy!! I just landed in Seattle. I rushed home last night to catch some sleep since I had an early flight (7:00 a.m. !!). But, geez, I just had to watch Top Chef Masters. But, oh no, not just once but I ended up watching it twice. Good golly, what was that all about? I guess anxiousness about not being able to get any sleep and wake up in the wee hours of the morning to catch a plane. Sheesh.

It is sunny in Seattle today and is actually expected to get up into the 80s for the time we are up here. (Up here with my sister and her male friend.) So glad to get away from all that dreary SF fog. I live out towards the beach so I get more fog than most people are used to. Summer out this way means the fog is thicker and lower to the ground.
We are up here to go to the Bite of Seattle (more about that tomorrow) which runs through the weekend. My sister and I went last year and decided we would do a repeat. What the heck were we doing up here last year? Well, she ended up helping out (=working) her Seattle office since two of their staff just upped and quit. She is in the insurance industry so you can probably see why.

Well, we did the tourist thing and went straight off to Pike's Market. A place familar to me since I practically went there every day of my week's stay last year. Such a sensory experience -- sights, smells. And the view...amazing.


So, whaddabout you?? What is your fave Pike Market experience?



Wednesday, July 15, 2009

My First Blog Post

Well, here I am sitting in class creating my first blog. Cool. So, why did it take me so long to decide to jump into the blog bog? Wellll...it is kinda like stealthly eyeing the dessert table at a buffet. You know you want to do it but you know that when you pick up your first piece of decadent no-I-really-shouldn't, you know you are IN and there is no turning back. This was a long time coming. I had been teetering on the edge for quite awhile. The rebel in me had resisted as it usually does. But I have taken that step off that cliff and...watch out...here I am! Well, actually, I have to credit this marketing class for the plunge. Sooooo, keep your eyes on me. I am breaking out and you are coming along for the ride. Stay tuned for my next post!