Wednesday, September 30, 2009

Another E-Quake

Another major earthquake. In Indonesia. Gosh, what is happening? Indonesia has been hit with many major disasters in the past few years. It seems like they are always in some type of recovery mode. The earthquakes are a reminder of our own past major temblor -- Loma Prieta. We know, all to well, how devasting an earthquake can be and the loss...all in less than a minute.

Tuesday, September 29, 2009

Sue-Nah-Me

Tsunami. There is a tsunami watch here tonight because of the devasting 8.3 earthquake in Samoa. At first, I was in disbelief. From so far away? But then I read more about the earthquake. So terrible. Think of the Samoan people tonight and keep them in your prayers.

Monday, September 28, 2009

New Show

Trauma. A new series is premiering tonight. My best guy buddy's partner is the make-up artist for the show. Filmed in San Francisco (actually Treasure Island) and the show is based in the City. Watch it tonight!

Saturday, September 26, 2009

Summer Day

Finally. A summer day in the City. But I am downtown today and am sure it is foggy out by the beach. And, yes, it is Fall. Summer in Fall. Yep. A nice day, so no complaints. I will take it.

Friday, September 25, 2009

Fall Signs

Sure sign of fall -- the pumpkin bin replaced the watermelon bin at Safeway. Sigh...still waiting for my summer...

Thursday, September 24, 2009

Beef Challenge

I am not sure why I feel compelled to go toe-to-toe with a big hunk of meat. Maybe because I used to eat like a guy. Meaning more than I should.

Picture RibFest in Sparks (near Reno), Nevada. One year, I blew through 28 (or was it more?) ribs. I just had to taste every competitor's ribs. What can I say? I ate the most at our table, obviously. And there were two firemen at the table. Maybe it was just the competitive side of me. Or maybe it was all-you-can-eat. I mean, that is nearly my middle name -- either Buffet or All You Can Eat.

That is probably when I first met my nemesis, Portion Control. Nah, maybe not. I think it was a lot earlier in life.

For this past year, I have been dealing with Speed Bump, the nickname for my fibroid. Speed Bump has been competing with space so I have been eating less (believe it or not!) since I get that full feeling quicker. (Gee...thanks, Speed Bump -- yeah, sarcasm).

Today, I just feel like duking it out with beef. Been having a craving for it lately. Could be my body needing to replenish iron. I guess that excuse can fly, right? Decided to go after a 2-lb. slab of beef. Well, almost made it. I probably left about 4 ounces. Not bad.
Irony, though, that I know what portions I should eat. Or not. I am just blatantly ignoring them. Rebel nature? Nah, just hungry.
Gosh, this gurl sure likes to eat...

Wednesday, September 23, 2009

Comcast Update

Well, this seems to be worse than I anticipated. It was bad but this is even worse. I have rescheduled my DVR installation since the technician did not have a working DVR. Yes, I said DVR. The equipment and service that I did not want. It appears that having another receiver, splitter and A/B box is inadequate and will not be able to record programs without some manual intervention. What does this mean? That I will not be able to record several programs on different channels without changing to that channel prior to recording. There is no point. This means, for example, that I cannot be away for any length of time. This method renders existing equipment (i.e., VCR, DVD-R) totally USELESS. This type of equipment will no longer have control over the programming since the receiver will be the primary interface. This totally, totally blows.

More to come after my installation.

Tuesday, September 22, 2009

Comcast - Revisited

Okay...more to come. I have scheduled a follow-up appointment. Apparently, I need a DVR! There is something so wrong in Mayberry. According to the technician, all of my equipment will be rendered useless because of these new dangfangled receivers. Ugggghhhhhh...I will wait until Friday to make a final judgment but I know I will be filing an FCC complaint. There must be many others out there who are experiencing the same situation. A conspiracy methinks.

Monday, September 21, 2009

Miss(ed) Manners

What happened to good old fashioned manners? It seems like the youngsters have no manners. I am on a crowded bus and a teen pretty much slams through people to grab a seat. Not even an "excuse me" to top it off. Oh, and she was yakking loudly on the phone during this time. There was a lady who, in my humble opinion, should have been offered the seat. In my youth, I was taught to offer the seat to persons older than myself. Gosh, I really wanted to just smack this gal on the back of her head and ask what is wrong with her.
Get some manners!


Oh, and do not get me started on people who keep their backpacks on during the bus ride. Take them off and place it on the floor between your feet. No one wants to edge their way through a blockade of backpacks. Take them off!

Miss(ed) manners...

Sunday, September 20, 2009

Duking It Out With Comcast

Well, it seems to be cable's turn. I am fighting with Comcast this time. They are, apparently, upgrading their digital service (really???) probably to compete with the other carriers. Well, it seems that we all need additional equipment just to receive the signals for some of the stations. If you do not have the equipment then you lose some (quite a lot) of your stations. So, months ago they sent a big box containing three different receivers. I connected them and pretty much tore them out not too long after. I decided to just wait until I lose those channels. Well, that time came about a month ago and I have connected those darn things. BUT, I find out that I can no longer record one channel while viewing another. Huhhhh??? Whaddup with that?? So, now I am fighting with Comcast to just get what the same level of previous service. One rep flat out says, "That ain't gonna happen." The scam is they try to sell you their DVR service. Which I do not need. All I need is an extra receiver, a splitter and an A/B switch for each of the televisions. I had to escalate up to a supervisor. Admittedly, I yelled my way through this which is really unfortunate. I have to wonder how many people have been misled and paid extra money for equipment and services they do not need. I will look into filing an FCC complaint. So what is next? Comcast will send out a technician and hook up what is necessary (hopefully, NOT a DVR) and give me a free year of equipment rental. But this is still ludicrous because that means that additional equipment fees will apply at some point just to receive the same level of service. That really blows. I will wait and see what happens tomorrow after the technician arrives. More to come...

Saturday, September 19, 2009

Pesky Mercury

Dang that pesky Mercury. He is still around creating electronic chaos. Or is it just coincidence that whenever I have an iTunes update, my router gets wonked off. Hmmmmm...when is this dude scatting out anyway??

Friday, September 18, 2009

Happy Hour Friday - Greyhound

One of my go-to drinks...

Greyhound
  • Fill ice in a tall glass
  • Add 1 oz. vodka
  • Fill with grapefruit juice (my preference is red grapefruit juice; try Simply Juice)
Enjoy!

Thursday, September 17, 2009

Retro

Geeeeeeez, Mercury must still be in retrograde or something. My phone went wonky and I got Apple's version of blue screen. Phone would not budge. Nothing. Nada. Just the Apple logo staring back at me. I had to do a major reset and restore. Funny coincidence -- my warranty just expired...yesterday! Hmmmm...some would think it was a timed conspiracy to nudge someone into buying an extended warranty.

Wednesday, September 16, 2009

Just Like Barney

I have Barney Rubble feet today. I did a bad thing last night. I ate a can of vegetarian chili late at night. What can I say? I was hungry. But I am paying for it today. The high sodium content of that chili has all pooled down to my feet. They are bloated and puffy and look just like Barney Rubble's. It is uncomfortable when I walk. Sigh. Time to hit the water to get this flushed out. Glug, glug, glug...

Tuesday, September 15, 2009

Kisses

Found: Hershey's Kisses with a macadamia nut center.

Monday, September 14, 2009

Food Coma

I...am...just...waking...up...from...my...food...coma. (yawn) Just for the record, I only ate half of my prime rib and took the rest to go for a snack.

Sunday, September 13, 2009

Another B-Day Celebration

Celebrating my sister's b-day with her friend. Chomping on a prime rib dinner with an all you can eat salad buffet. And we are certainly all we can eating. Oh, gosh, I know I am going to pig out. I feel the food coma coming already...

Saturday, September 12, 2009

Beach Time

Ma Nature decided to be partly cloudy, which for a beach day, is partly bummer. I wanted to work on getting a tan but it seems like this may not work in my favor. Yes, yes, yes...tans are on the out and bad lists but, hey, I look good in a tan. So, maybe I just feel guilty for a wee moment. But the feel of sand and surf on my toes is calling me.

Friday, September 11, 2009

Sad Anniversary

Today is September 11th. This day is one we all will not forget. Today we mourn for all who have fallen on this day years ago.

Thursday, September 10, 2009

Running away to the beach to celebrate my sister's upcoming b-day. Good excuse to get some sun, sand, surf and partying. And, of course, some serious eating. (You know I like to eat, right?)

Wednesday, September 9, 2009

999

Happy 999! September 9, 2009, that is. Chinese believe the number nine is lucky...so wishing you a lucky day.

Tuesday, September 8, 2009

Not Found

Coco-MMers or dark Reese's. Still and yet. Will keep prowling.

Monday, September 7, 2009

Laboring on Labor Day

Geez. I remember laboring on Labor Day one year (or was it two, three). Yeah, for real. I thought it was ironic. That one year I spent most of my holidays working on one case or another. So, today, my thoughts go out there for those laboring on Labor Day.

Sunday, September 6, 2009

Nachos Grande

Sigh. Okay. This is more than just plain nachos (nausea). It is turning into a nasty stomach ache. Ouch.

Saturday, September 5, 2009

Nachos

Not the good, yummy kind. Nachos as in nauseous. My sister calls it nachos instead of nauseous. I adopted it because it sounds cute. At least, much better than nauseous. Had a heavy breakfast. Not heavy as in too much but what I had for breakfast. Too much protein (meat). Blech. Nachos. I think I will stick to oatmeal for breakfast.

Friday, September 4, 2009

Thoughts of Peppermill

My nemesis, Portion Control, has won again tonight. I had a nice healthy salad but, come on now, there is no reason why I should be eating a Peppermill size portion. Other than I like to eat. (chuckle)

Thursday, September 3, 2009

WaterBar

Nice. Verrrryyyy niiice...

Wednesday, September 2, 2009

MVF

Why do I alwyas pig out when I watch Man Vs. Food?? (burp)

Tuesday, September 1, 2009

Costume Party

I was heading downtown on the bus and we passed a film shoot on break. This must be the shoot for Trauma, the drama series coming this fall. My buddy's partner is the make-up artist (boy, he really is an artist with a capital A) for the series and he had some Halloween costume accessories for the upcoming shoot about a costume party.

At the party, he had me try on long sleeve gloves with leopard trim, matching leopard pillbox hat and matching leopard glasses. I call the get-up the Norma outfit. It was so cute and was just up my personality alley. I think I will get a set for myself.

So, watch Trauma when it rolls out this fall season!