Sunday, November 29, 2009

Pursuing Persimmons

Persimmons. I have really been getting into these lately. These are seasonal fruits and I just love them. But I can only love them while they are in season.

There are two types - Hachiya and Fuyu. The Hachiyas are the ones where you have to eat them when they are mushy ripe. Believe me, you do not want to try to eat them before it is time. It is like biting into sand. Gritty. Yuck. But when they are ripe, they are juicy and sweet. It has a texture which I would describe as gelatinous. Try freezing them when they get into this mushy gelatinous state. Take it out of the freezer and take the skin off. Eat when frozen. It will remind you of eating a sorbet. Something different, eh?

I am really into the Fuyu persimmon. Okay, I always laugh when I say or think Fuyu. The pronounciation. (tee hee) I usually eat the Fuyu while it is hard like an apple. It can also be eaten at that mushy state and is a matter of preference. But I like the crunchiness. I have been eating a few at a sitting. Yep. I am chowing through them.

I eat them sliced or toss slices into a salad. I like the sweet/savory combo, remember? Something different to try if you have not thought about that combo.

However you decide to eat them, enjoy them while you can.

Saturday, November 28, 2009

Comatose

Oh, gosh. I may just be coming out of my food coma from Thanksgiving. Egads. It is amazing how much I like to eat and how much food. One would think I was training to be a competitive food eater. Well, maybe I had thought about that awhile ago.

My sister came home early in the morning and she started cooking the turkey right away. Which means we had turkey in time for lunch. Totally fine by me! For some reason, I did not make any cranberry sauce this year. I guess because I am the only one who eats it and I did not feel like staring at leftover cranberry sauce in the fridge.

I am really trying to get along with Portion Control but not on this day. It seems like Thanksgiving has the reputation as a gorge fest. Yeah, well, I guess so since I helped myself to a second helping of everything. For lunch. Repeated at dinner. Aaaaccckkkk. I feel like a stuffed turkey. Gobbled gobbly gobble.

I think I am coming out of my food coma long enough to make another plate. (Still working on it.) So I could fall back into my coma.

Sweet dreams (burp)...

Friday, November 27, 2009

Cape Cod

Also called or simply known as a Vodka Cranberry. Keeping with the Thanksgiving theme, of course.

Cape Cod
  • Fill a tall glass with ice.
  • Add 1 oz. vodka.
  • Fill with cranberry juice.
Enjoy with your post-Thanksgiving leftovers, if any. :-D

Wednesday, November 25, 2009

T-Giving

Almost there. Today is the day before Thanksgiving and I suspect most people are frenzied and have their panties bunched up. This is one monster day of cooking prep. Well, except for me, of course. The microwave queen.

Anxiousness. Cooking. Relatives. Too much happening.

A lot going on at once for a lot of people. Well, not me. It is just me and sis. Hopefully. Her firefriend is hoping to work on the holiday. That leaves her at home for Turkey Day. A turkey is defrosting in the fridge - check. Stove Top - check. Gravy in a can (used to be a jar but a can will have to do this year) - check. Frozen veggies (peas, corn) - check. Ha ha. We are not cooks! Some people really get off on cooking (Martha-esque) but not me. Well, I can but would have to be motivated. Happens about...mmmm...once or twice a year. Admittedly, I am a stereotype bachelor(ette). More bachelor than bachelorette really. A bachelorette can and does cook. Bachelors, well...don't. But who cares? It is just good to be hanging out with my sis. That is all I care about. (Giving my thanks...)

Tuesday, November 24, 2009

Sipping Turkey

Wild Turkey Honey Liqueur. When I first received this bottle from a good friend of mine, I had that "huhhhh?" reaction. I knew about Wild Turkey but I had not heard of this liqueur. I scratched my head wondering what this could be and what it would taste like (had thoughts of an initial gag reaction). To my pleasant surprise, it is pretty tasty. It is a sweet liqueur that I would not have associated with Wild Turkey. Who woulda thunk?? I wonder how those Wild Turkey folks thought of creating this anti-WT sipper.

If you are curious about the liqueur, head over to BevMo and pick up a bottle. I hope you enjoy it and is as much surprised as I was at my first sip.

Thought it would be a bit in line with the upcoming holiday. Happy T-giving sipping!!

Friday, November 13, 2009

Happy Hour Friday - Black Russian

It is that time of the week (yay)!. Since I was blogging about being nostalgic about coffee yesterday, I thought a Black Russian would be appropriate for this week's happy hour.

Black Russian

  • Fill a rocks glass with ice.

  • Fill with 1 oz. vodka.

  • Fill with 1 oz. kahlua.

Enjoy!!

Thursday, November 12, 2009

Sugar Attack

What the heck just happened? Now, I am not a sugar junkie. Far from it, really. I am more of a salt/savory craver. Like potato chips, crackers, whatever. (Okay, okay, those coco MMers were an anomaly.)

I guess this all started when I went looking for a South Beach protein bar. I thought I had a box lying around somewhere. Seems I must have blown through them and have no replacements. In the course of my quest, I found a bag of coffee candy. I open one and toss it in my mouth. And then another. And another. And another. Repeat, repeat, repeat. Next thing you know is my trash is floating with empty candy wrappers. I think I just hit that comfort food spot. I used to eat them all the time when I was just a little kid. It reminds me of mom. She used to love these too. I guess I got my taste for these candies from her. I miss her. I think of her as I am brought back to my childhood. I sit back, think of mom and enjoy my treats. I miss her...

Wednesday, November 11, 2009

Vet's Day

Today is Veterans Day and is the time to remember and honor all who have served and are serving for our country. We all know someone, whether closely or remotely, who has should receive the recognition and honor today.

Tuesday, November 10, 2009

Trauma Reprieve??

Shhhhhh. Sounds like the recently cancelled Trauma may be a survivor. It is under assessment by the network. It appears it has a following. So, for those who are followers and would like to see it continue...keep the good vibes going. And cross your fingers.

Monday, November 9, 2009

Commuter Pet Peeve

Gosh. There are probably so many pet peeves I have when commuting. Most, if not all of them, are lack of courtesy of others in some way.

My pet peeve today is people who keep their backpacks on and do not take them off and put them on the floor. I used to carry a backpack but I would always place it on the floor so other commuters could get by me. Okay, okay. If you are iffy about putting your backpack on the floor, do what I do -- place the bottom of the pack on top of your feet. I mean, c'mon now, inconsiderate people -- we cannot get around you. Take the darn thing off your back and let others get around you. Sheesh.

Okay, that was my commuter beef for today. I am sure I will blog more about others.

So, what is your take about backpacks?

Sunday, November 8, 2009

Chicken Out

My latest food jones is Rocky Chicken drumsticks. Roasted and sold at the local supermarket deli for just a mere tri-bux for six. It hooked me in. Uhhhhh, let me see -- I do not have to cook, it is hot food, they are drumsticks (one fave part), it is organic, it is cheap, I can blow through the express lane, I can tear into it right away after I get home, leftovers can be post-gym protein eatz. Oh, heck yeah, let me at it.

Oh, I am such a sucker for food...

Saturday, November 7, 2009

My Latest Food Craze

This is a not food craze but I am getting into it because of the season change. I am a big (as in really big) salad eater. I love salads. I used to have them for lunch every day (not so much nowadays). But the season is changing and it is getting cooler (some days much colder). How to satisfy my love for salad in this weather, I ponder. I thought of grilled caesar salad so something along those lines. Sort of like a reverse warm spinach salad. Warm salad instead of warm dressing. I always have romaine salad in the fridge and is the usual base for my salads. Cool. Let me work with it.

I get started. I halve a romaine heart in half and toss it on a very lightly oiled (olive, of course, for flavor) pan. Grill pan is the usual suspect but I just used a regular pan which is just as good. Oh, okay, I admit it. I threw both halves on the pan. I already fessed up that I eat Peppermill size salads. To justify using the whole head of romaine, it was a small heart of romaine. While the romaine is heating up, I prepare the other ingredients. My usual method of madness is to toss together whatever is in the fridge. Protein today for the salad is leftover chicken breast. Love chicken for the low-fat protein and usually put the white meat aside for salads. Just the right portion size for a salad. A large chicken breast is good enough for two portions. This was a dinky portion since it was deli chicken. Okay, what else. Feta cheese diced up into small bits, sliced red onions, zucchini in half moons, diced Asian pear, thawed frozen corn, thawed frozen peas. That should work. Good timing. The romaine is done after I prep the rest of the fixings. Slice the romaine into bite size portions and toss on top of the fixings. Cruise the fridge again. Which one of the numerous dressings am I in the mood for today? Ahhhh, Cheese Fantastico. Good choice. Dress the salad and toss.

Oh, this is yummy. The warm romaine soaks up the vinegarette. The mixture of warm/cold, sweet/salty, crunchy/soft. Opposing textures and tastes. You remember I said I was really into the food experience, right? This one hits the spot.

Give it a shot. Make your own version of a grilled salad and check it out. I hope you like it as much as I do.

Friday, November 6, 2009

Happy Hour Friday - Kahlua and Coffee

Talking about coffee the other day just made me think of a coffee drink. And I guess since it is another one of those dark and drizzly days where I would not mind curling up with a warm drink.

Kahlua and Coffee

  • In a coffee mug, add 1 to 1-1/4 oz. of Kahlua
  • Add coffee to mug (decaf if that is your gig)
  • Optional - sugar or flavored syrup to taste

Mmmmmm...savor and enjoy!

Thursday, November 5, 2009

Cut It Out...Of Your Life

I was talking about diet modification yesterday and that makes me think, in a funny way, of a people diet modification. Editing your life. Whatcha mean, you ask. I am talking about editing toxic people out of your life. Sheesh, if I could have done this when I was editing my diet.

I basically put people in one of two camps: the What Can You Do For Me Camp and the What Can I Do For You Camp. Basically, takers and givers.

I have been focusing on life lessons (darned Saturn has been bouncing around in my life) and this one is on my list. Editing out the toxic people in my life. Toxic people will suck the life out of you. They bring out negative energy. Things I have been asking myself --does this person bring me down, is this person only thinking of themselves (selfishness), are they trying to take advantage of me, do they have their or your best interest in mind, do they criticize or support you on how you lead your life, etc.

I am down on downers. I have always put other people in front of me before myself. I was raised to not be selfish (wonder what happened there with two of my very selfish siblings who I cut out of my life) and be humble. I respect the people in my life. I cherish my good friends since I am who I am because of my friends, the relationships I have with each of them and what they bring into my life. Good friends will always bring good things into your life. On the flipside, not-so-good-for-you "friends" will only bring not-so-good-things into your life. Ask yourself -- do I really need this in my life?

Time for some editing...

Wednesday, November 4, 2009

Cut It Out

It is a dreary drizzly morning and I am drinking a hot coffee protein drink right now. This is my substitute for real coffee (and a mid-morning snack) since I walked away from caffeine years and years ago to keep my blood pressure in check. Yes, I could always switch to decaf but thought I would just quit it altogether because of the caffeine, sugar and expense. Oh, and because of the darn stained teeth you get from drinking so much coffee. Yeah, yeah, yeah...just brush your teeth you say! Ha ha. Vanity is good for motivation. I will take it.

I was cutting things out of my life at that time since I was so freaked out about possibly having to take meds to control the blood pressure. So here we are...diet modification. I cut out the sodium, caffeine, sugar and not-so-good-for-you fat. A ho-hum, boring, yucky time you would think. But I was determined. Overall, this was, and still is a good diet change. I feel much better. I have that occasional salt attack but I always manage to keep it all in check and have learned ways on how to minimize some of its effects. Moderation really is the key. You hear it all the time but it is really good, sound advice. But I managed to take it to a level better than moderation. Occasional is how I would describe it.

I feel much better physically and mentally. Yes, mentally. Things are cleaner and clearer in both mind and body. A cleansing of sorts.

Are you thinking of modifications for yourself??

Tuesday, November 3, 2009

Soup's On

I am going back on a soup diet now that the weather is getting colder. What is the soup diet, you ask? It is just having soup for lunch or dinner. To have soup as a meal. Just make sure it is a nutritionally balanced (protein and veggies), low calorie and low fat. I actually dropped a few pounds one year just having soup once a day. I need to drop a few pounds anyway from that pig's feet fest the other day.

My soup diet is guiltily from cans. I am not a cook. I am pretty much a bachelor and eating something that is quick and tasty fits my bill. At least, when I am eating in, which is most of the time nowadays. But soup is satisfying to me and fills me up. I toss in a slice of whole wheat bread for extra nutrients and fiber. The sodium content is high (c'mon now, it is from a can) but I typically thin it out with a bit of water and then drink a lot of water later to avoid Barney Rubble feet and tummy bloat.

Homemade, of course, is much better. If you have the time. I think I may make homemade soup about once a year. I am much better at doctored up soup. Tossing fresh cut up vegetables into a can of chicken broth or plain tomato soup. That is for convenience and time. I have made homemade soup stock and, admittedly, I can make it in about half an hour in the pressure cooker. But I never have chicken bones on hand. Making homemade soup takes planning and I am usually a spur of the moment eater giving into the craving of the moment.

Soup's on...however you decide to go about it.

Monday, November 2, 2009

No More Trauma Drama

Sigh. NBC has cancelled Trauma. I was hoping it would make it. It is filmed locally. It is always fun trying to figure out what street or neighborhood they are filming. They filmed one episode in front of my old office building. Wish I was there but sure they were filming on a Sunday. Hint - there was no congested foot and vehicle traffic. Mostly bummed that my friend's partner will be let go from this gig. Way bummer.

Sunday, November 1, 2009

Slicked

Grrrrrr...another oil spill in the bay. At first, the report was just a few gallons but then it turns out to be a few hundred gallons. Grrrrrrr! That affects not just everyone in the Bay Area but all of the birds, marine animals, beaches, everything else you can think of. The Bay Area has already been hit with a large number of marine mammals needing assistance because of lack of food from something happening in the waters. This was detected early but not much was done to prevent further spread.

Grrrrr...